Limerick win fifth consecutive Munster title with one point Clare triumph

Limerick sealed a fifth Munster title in as many seasons, with a hard fought, 1-23 to 1-22 victory over neighbours Clare at a sold out TUS Gaelic Grounds. Its a a 24th Munster title for the Treaty county.

Late scores from Cathal O’Neill pushed Limerick over the line – O’Neill was a sub for this with David Reidy and Graeme Mulcahy included from the start.

Clare shaded the first half, where Limerick failed to full ignite. There was early scores from Tom Morrissey and Aaron Gillane. The Patrickswell man ended the first half with seven points to his name, including a brace of trademark scores from play.

For Clare, Tony Kelly and Shane O’Donnell were on target early on, while Mark Rodgers bagged their goal late in the half. He collected a breaking ball and finished to the net, after Kelly’s long range shot came off the post.

Clare held a 1-11 to 0-11 at half-time. Then came the Limerick purple patch – the third quarter.

There was David Reidy scores, as well as efforts from Tom Morrissey and Gillane. Again, it was Gillane who looked a real threat, getting the better of Cian Nolan for all 50 minutes that the Clareman was on the pitch. The goal arrived when Reidy found Gillane and he bounced it to the net beyond Eibhear Quilligan. This gave Limerick the lead.

John Kiely’s men kicked five clear, 1-19 to 1-14, but Brian Lohan’s charges weren’t going easily. David Fitzgerald and Kelly hauled them back into the clash. Captain Kelly did miss a brace of key frees.

In the dying members, there was Cathal O’Neill score to put Limerick two clear. There was a reply from Ian Galvin, but O’Neill did the same from the sideline to push two ahead once more.

Despite a late Kelly point and a claim for a Clare free, Liam Gordon eventually signaled full time, which gave Limerick their fifth title in as many seasons.

Scorers for Limerick: Aaron Gillane 1-11 (0-8 frees); Tom Morrissey, David Reidy 0-3 each; Cathal O’Neill 0-2; Darragh O’Donovan, Gearoid Hegarty, Kyle Hayes, Adam English 0-1 each.

Scorers for Clare:
Tony Kelly 0-6 (0-2 frees); Mark Rodgers 1-2; Aidan McCarthy 0-4 (0-3 frees); Shane O’Donnell, David Fitzgerald, Ian Galvin 0-2 each; Cathal Malone, Diarmuid Ryan, Ryan Taylor, Aron Shanagher 0-1 each.

Limerick: Nickie Quaid, Mike Casey, Dan Morrissey, Barry Nash; Diarmaid Byrnes, Declan Hannon (C), Kyle Hayes; Darragh O’Donovan, William O’Donoghue; Gearoid Hegarty, David Reidy, Tom Morrissey; Graeme Mulcahy, Seamus Flanagan, Aaron Gillane.

Subs: Peter Casey for Mulcahy (47), Colin Coughlan for Hannon (55), Richie English for M. Casey (57), Cathal O’Neill for T. Morrissey (57), Adam English for O’Donovan (blood 62 – 63), Adam English for Flanagan (65).

Eibhear Quilligan; Adam Hogan, Cian Nolan, Rory Hayes; Diarmuid Ryan, John Conlon, David McInerney; David Fitzgerald, Cathal Malone; David Fitzgerald, Cathal Malone; Peter Duggan, Tony Kelly, Aidan McCarthy; Ryan Taylor, Shane O’Donnell, Mark Rodgers.

Shane Meehan for McCarthy (45), Seadna Morey for Nolan (50), Aaron Shanagher for Duggan (57), Ian Galvin for Meehan (65), Paul Flanagan for Hayes (68).

Liam Gordon (Galway).



Social Sharing

Posted in ,

“We’re still here” | John Kiely defiant after booking Munster final spot

Kiely said he was "delighted" that his team's "average performance level is up," but conceded that his players ...
Read More

Limerick march through to Munster final after Waterford success

Limerick reached a sixth Munster final in a row after eventually shaking off Waterford to defeat their Munster ...
Read More

Kilkenny too strong for Limerick in Camogie Championship opener

Limerick 0-4Kilkenny 1-19By Tom Clancy at Mick Neville ParkLimerick's Senior Camogie side fell to a disappointing 18-point reverse ...
Read More

Limerick v Waterford | Last Five Championship Clashes

Ahead of this Saturday’s meeting, relive the last five championship clashes between the Munster rivals. Limerick and Waterford ...
Read More

Limerick Senior hurling team named for Waterford clash | TEAM NEWS

Gearoid Hegarty and Tom Morrissey assume their familiar half-forward roles, with Seamus Flanagan named at full-forward. John Kiely ...
Read More

Limerick defeat Offaly in Tailteann Cup meeting

The Shannonsiders had gone 364 days without a victory of any sort, stopping the rot one day short ...
Read More

“We put ourselves in a position to win the game”| John Kiely reflects on Cork defeat

The boss did also highlight that "it's a four game competition" and that "everything is not lost or ...
Read More

John Kiely names Limerick team for Cork clash | TEAM NEWS

Gearoid Hegarty and Tom Morrissey assume their familiar half-forward roles, with Seamus Flanagan named at full-forward. John Kiely ...
Read More