Limerick’s Conor Murray named on World Rugby Team of the Decade

Limerick and Munster scrum-half Conor Murray was last night selected on the World Rugby team of the Decade.

He is one of two Irish players to make the selection, alongside Leinster legend Brian O’Driscoll who retired from international Rugby in 2014 as Ireland’s leading try scorer.

Richie McCaw was named as the Player of the Decade and was one of seven New Zealanders to make the cut.

Three South Africans were included as well as the pair from Ireland with one each from Australia, Italy and Wales.

Conor Murray

Murray made his Irish debut in a World Cup warm up in 2011 and was the team’s starting No.9 by the conclusion of that tournament.

He has held on to hsi status as Ireland’s number one scrum half since then and has 87 caps to his name for his country, including 14 tries.

He also has five caps for the Lions, starting in each of the three tests in the 2017 tour of New Zealand.

He has won three Six Nations championship titles since his debut, including a Grand Slam in 2018.

For Munster, his only success came in the 2011 Magners League final win over Leinster

Try of the Decade

Murray was also involved in the Try of the Decade which was awarded to Jamie Heaslip for his effort against Italy in 2016.

With the ball secured on their 22, Murray fired out to Johnny Sexton who played a wrap around with Fergus McFadden before Sexton released Simon Zebo. Zebo would offload to Jared Payne who offloaded inside to Sexton. The fly-half would pass to Andrew Trimble who would offload to McFadden before he released Heaslip who would finish the electric move.

Check it out below

World Rugby Men’s Team of the Decade

1. Tendai Mtawarira (RSA)
2. Bismarck du Plessis (RSA)
3. Owen Franks (NZL)
4. Brodie Retallick (NZL)
5. Sam Whitelock (NZL)
6. David Pocock (AUS)
7. Richie McCaw (NZL)
8. Sergio Parisse (ITA)
9. Conor Murray (IRE)
10. Dan Carter (NZL)
11. Bryan Habana (RSA)
12. Ma’a Nonu (NZL)
13. Brian O’Driscoll (IRE)
14. George North (WAL)
15. Ben Smith (NZL)

See the Awards in full below.

Social Sharing

Posted in

Munster exit URC with Glasgow defeat at Thomond Park | HIGHLIGHTS

Munster gained their first try after RG Snyman set up an attack, passing to Jeremy Loughman who stormed ...
Read More

Munster Rugby issue squad update

Along with the 23 players who featured against Ospreys at Thomond Park on Friday night, there were 17 ...
Read More

Munster through to URC semi-final with Ospreys victory | HIGHLIGHTS

The hosts saw out the remainder of the game to secure a semi-final, fixed for next Saturday at ...
Read More

Munster all set for Ospreys clash | TEAM NEWS

Jeremy Loughman, Niall Scannell and Stephen Archer pack down in the front row with RG Snyman and captain ...
Read More

Munster Rugby issue squad update

Tom Ahern suffered an ankle/lower leg injury against Ulster and has undergone a scan, he is unavailable for ...
Read More

Munster top URC with bonus-point Ulster win | HIGHLIGHTS

The bonus-point win sees Munster secure first seed and Rowntree’s side will now take on Ospreys at Thomond ...
Read More

Munster name team to face Ulster | TEAM NEWS

Kendellen, Ahern and Coombes are set to continue their record of playing in every URC and Champions Cup ...
Read More

Munster Rugby issue squad update ahead of Ulster clash

Munster have won 12 of their 17 games so far, drawing one and losing four to sit top ...
Read More