Limerick’s Matthew Fitzgerald chosen on Minor Hurling Team of the Year

The Monaleen native is selected at midfield and is Limerick’s sole representative on the team.

Limerick’s Matthew Fitzgerald has been named on the Electric Ireland Minor Hurling team of the year following a string of fine displays in the provincial championships this year.

The Monaleen native is selected at midfield and is Limerick’s sole representative on the team after they were beaten in the semi-finals by the eventual All-Ireland champions Clare.

He is the only player that didn’t reach the All-Ireland semi-finals to be named on the team. Fitzgerald started each of Limerick’s five games between midfield and wing forward, scoring a brace of points in the Thurles win over Tipperary.

The team is dominated by champions Clare who have six players chosen including Ardscoil Rís trio Matthew O’Halloran, Micheal Collins and Marc O’Brien. Beaten finalists Galway have five on the team with Cork providing a pair. Limerick Limerick, Kilkenny have one named to the side.

Future All-Ireland winners Cathal O’Neill (2018 &’19) and Adam English (2020) were previous Limerick players named on the team.

Electric Ireland Minor Hurling Team of the Year

  1. Shane Murray (Galway)
  2. Eohgan Gunning (Clare)
  3. Ronan Keane (Clare)
  4. Sean Murphy (Galway)
  5. Matthew O’Halloran (Clare)
  6. James Hegarty (Clare)
  7. David O’Leary (Cork)
  8. Michael Burke (Galway)
  9. Matthew Fitzgerald (Limerick and Monaleen)
  10. Greg Kelly (Kilkenny)
  11. Micheal Collins (Clare)
  12. Barry Walsh (Cork)
  13. Jason Rabitte (Galway)
  14. Marc O’Brien (Clare)
  15. Aaron Niland (Galway)

GAA coverage on Sporting Limerick is brought to you in association with Noels Menswear, shop online here or visit in Dooradoyle, Limerick City or Newcastle West.

Social Sharing

Posted in

Ladies Senior and Intermediate championships down to the semi-final stage

Ballylanders await St Ailbe's in the first semi-final, while Oola will take on Monagea for a spot in ...
Read More

South Liberties’ goal rush secures safety as Garryspillane fall to relegation

Barry Nash and Tom Ryan both bagged a double with Anthony Nash rounding out his club career with ...
Read More

Games of years gone by recounted in new a book about Limerick’s greatest hurlers 

The book leads the reader through 30 games from the point of view of former and current Limerick ...
Read More

Four final round games to be streamed live by Limerick GAA TV

The senior championship promotion decider between neighbours Mungret St Pauls and Ballybrown will be streamed live from Clauaghaun. ...
Read More

Final knockout places up for grabs in Senior, Intermediate and Junior Hurling Ranks | Final Round Fixtures

There are games to be played across all four of Limerick hurling's top tiers this weekend, with knockout ...
Read More

St Senans secure big win to top Intermediate group with Mungret St Pauls also into semis | IFC, PJAFC & JAFC Round Up

There were a number of games played over the weekend across the second, third and fourth tiers of ...
Read More

WATCH | Limerick Masters outlast Armagh to secure Spirit Cup Title after extra-time

Goals from John Doyle and Michael O'Donoghue helped deliver a first title for the Limerick Masters over the ...
Read More

Down to the final six in the Limerick SFC with quarter-final pairings confirmed

Five of last year's final six remain in the hunt for the title, promoted Na Piarsaigh replacing St ...
Read More