Lynch and Casey start as Limerick reveal team for Munster C’Ship opener in Thurles

It is the same starting line up that began the 2021 All-Ireland final against Cork with Hayes reverting to wing back and Morrissey at full.

John Kiely has named his Limerick side to take on Waterford in the first round of the 2023 Munster Senior Hurling Championship this Sunday.

There are two changes from last year’s All-Ireland winning XV with Cian Lynch and Peter Casey returning to the starting line up in the place of Mike Casey and Graeme Mulcahy who are amongst the substitutes.

It is the same starting line up that began the 2021 All-Ireland final win against Cork with Hayes reverting to wing back and Morrissey at full back.

There are a number of players on the bench that could be in for a championship debut in Jamie Power, Ronan Connolly and Cathal O’Neill. David Reidy returns to the bench after missing the last five league games through injury.

Adam English and Shane O’Brien were both named for the Limerick U20s for their third-round championship game this Friday and so were ruled ineligible for the senior contest.

Waterford also named their team for the clash on Sunday afternoon which throws in at 2pm in Semple Stadium.

Limerick team to face Waterford.

  1. Nickie Quaid (Effin)
  2. Sean Finn (Briff)
  3. Dan Morrissey (Ahane)
  4. Barry Nash (South Liberties)
  5. Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell)
  6. Declan Hannon (Adare)
  7. Kyle Hayes (Kildimo Pallaskenry)
  8. Darragh O’Donovan (Doon)
  9. William O’Donoghue (Na Piarsaigh)
  10. Gearoid Hegarty (St Patricks)
  11. Cian Lynch (Patrickswell)
  12. Tom Morrissey (Ahane)
  13. Aaron Gillane (Patrickswell)
  14. Seamus Flanagan (Feohanagh Castlemahon)
  15. Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh)
  1. Jamie Power (Monaleen)
  2. Conor Boylan (Na Piarsaigh)
  3. Mike Casey (Na Piarsaigh)
  4. Ronan Connolly (Adare)
  5. Colin Coughlan (Ballybrown)
  6. Richie English (Doon)
  7. Graeme Mulcahy (Kilmallock)
  8. Barry Murphy (Doon)
  9. Donnacha O’Dalaigh (Monaleen)
  10. Cathal O’Neill (Crecora Manister)
  11. David Reidy (Dromin Athlacca)

GAA coverage on Sporting Limerick is brought to you in association with Noels Menswear, shop online here or visit in Dooradoyle, Limerick City or Newcastle West.

Social Sharing

Posted in

Limerick defeat Offaly in Tailteann Cup meeting

The Shannonsiders had gone 364 days without a victory of any sort, stopping the rot one day short ...
Read More

“We put ourselves in a position to win the game”| John Kiely reflects on Cork defeat

The boss did also highlight that "it's a four game competition" and that "everything is not lost or ...
Read More

John Kiely names Limerick team for Cork clash | TEAM NEWS

Gearoid Hegarty and Tom Morrissey assume their familiar half-forward roles, with Seamus Flanagan named at full-forward. John Kiely ...
Read More

Limerick U20 hurling team named for Waterford meeting | TEAM NEWS

Kilmallock's Shane O’Brien leads the full-forward line, flanked by Fintan Fitzgerald in one corner and Oisin O’Farrell in ...
Read More

Limerick name minor hurling team for Waterford meeting | TEAM NEWS

Joint-captain Diarmuid Hurley continues at full-forward, joined by Jack Fitzgerald and Patrick Kearney in the inside-forward line. Limerick ...
Read More

Limerick footballers discover Tailteann Cup group opponents

Down are the bookies favourites to win this year's Tailteann Cup, priced at 7/4, while Limerick are heavy ...
Read More

“All you can ask for is effort” | Declan Hannon gives his thoughts post Tipperary win

A tight opening 25 minutes in windy conditions saw the sides draw level on five occasions, but the ...
Read More

“There are opportunities there” | John Kiely speaks after Tipperary victory

A tense opening 25 minutes saw the sides level on five occasions, with a strong breeze behind Limerick's ...
Read More