Mark Fitzgerald makes four changes to Limerick side for Tailteann Cup clash with Wicklow

Fitzgerald has made four changes to the side that beat Carlow, Cormac Woulfe, Iain Corbett, Tony McCarthy and Hugh Bourke all come in from the start.

Mark Fitzgerald has named his team for the final round of the Tailteann Cup. Limerick face Wicklow on Sunday at 1pm in Portlaoise, having won their two previous games in the competition. The game is a dead rubber, with Limerick already guaranteeing a spot in the quarter final, following their impressive win over Carlow last time out. Wicklow, on the other hand, have already been eliminated.

Fitzgerald has made four changes to the side he named for the clash with Carlow: Cormac Woulfe, Iain Corbett, Tony McCarthy and Hugh Bourke all come in from the start. It is a full debut for the St Senans native Woulfe who made his first appearance last time out. Mike Donovan, Cathal Downes and Jim Liston drop to the bench with Paul Maher missing out.

James Naughton and Peter Nash remain starters at corner forward, the pair impressed last time out, combining for twelve points, Naughton kicking five from frees.

22 April 2023; James Naughton of Limerick during the Munster GAA Football Senior Championship Semi-Final match between Limerick and Clare at TUS Gaelic Grounds in Limerick. Photo by Tom Beary/Sportsfile

It is the first time the Shannonsiders have competed in the Tailteann Cup and they are the first team already assured of a quarter-final spot ahead of the final round. Westmeath won the first instalment of the cup, defeating Cavan in the final in 2022 with the champions guaranteed a place in next year’s All-Ireland Championship.

Limerick have risen in the odds to win the competition outright, following back to back impressive performances, they are now ranked only behind Cavan, Down, and Meath. Cavan will be eager to avenge last year’s defeat to Westmeath, and are heavy favourites for the cup. The Treaty will be optimistic about their chances in the competition, and while the result against Wicklow doesn’t matter, a comfortable win would only further their momentum as they look toward the quarter-finals.

Limerick team vs Wicklow:

1. Aaron O’Sullivan Pallasgreen

2. Cormac WoulfeSt.Senans

3. Seán O’Dea Kilteely/Dromkeen

4. Brian Fanning Pallasgreen

5. Barry Coleman Rathkeale

6. lain Corbett Newcastlewest

7. Tony McCarthy Kildimo/Pallaskenry

8. Colm McSweeney Gerald Griffins

9. Cillian Fahy Dromcollogher/Broadford

10. Adrian Enright Fr. Caseys

11. Brian Donovan Monaleen

12. Cian Sheehan Newcastlewest

13. James Naughton St.Senans

14. Hugh Bourke Adare

15. Peter Nash Kildimo/Pallaskenry

16. Eoghan Sherlock Na Piarsaigh

17. Robbie Bourke Adare

18. David Connolly Adare

19. Mike Donovan St. Finbarrs

20. Cathal Downes Kildimo/Pallaskenry

21. Tommy Griffin Gerald Griffins

22. Jim Liston Gerald Griffins

23. Davy Lyons Adare

24. Darragh Murray Monaleen

25. Ruadhan O’Connor Newcastlewest

26. Killian Ryan Mungret/St. Pauls

GAA coverage on Sporting Limerick is brought to you in association with Noels Menswear, shop online here or visit in Dooradoyle, Limerick City or Newcastle West.

Social Sharing

Posted in

Patrickswell’s goal threat & Doon’s balance | SHC Talking Points

Last weekend's Limerick SHC quarter-final action taught us a lot about the teams remaining in the championship. The ...
Read More

Newcastle West and Killeedy to meet in Senior Camogie final

The clash of the West rivals will be a repeat of the 2020 and 2021 finals where they ...
Read More

Race for the Daly Cup down to the final four | SHC Power Rankings #7

The top two would have watched their semi-final opponents keenly where they will be favoured to set up ...
Read More

Final knockout places in the Intermediate and Junior A Hurling Championships filled

The remaining pair of knockout berths in both the IHC and JAHC were filled over the weekend following ...
Read More

Highlights | Doon and Patrickswell earn passage to SHC semi-finals

Doon are back into the semi-finals for the eighth year running with the Well returning to the stage ...
Read More

Fixtures confirmed as Football Championships reach quarter final stage

In the senior, Fr Caseys and Na Piarsigh meet on Saturday afternoon with Monaleen meeting Kildimo Pallaskenry the ...
Read More

Monagea set up repeat Ladies SFC final as Galtee Gaels see off Mungret in Intermediate semi-final replay

It sets up a repeat of last year's final in the decider as Monagea will meet St Alibes ...
Read More

Final four in Limerick PIHC confirmed as Cappamore fall to relegation

Newcastle West were the big losers of the weekend, missing out on the top four after their round ...
Read More