Minor hurlers held to draw in Munster opener

Limerick’s minor hurlers began their Munster campaign with a draw after Darragh Flynn’s injury time free saw Cork earn a draw.

Diarmuid Mullins’ side had led by five points going into the final quarter but Flynn fired over six points to see the game finish 0-19 to 1-16.

Cork had led by five points (1-4 to 0-2) after 13 thanks to Flynn’s 1-2 and points from Daniel Hogan and Paul O’Riordan.

Limerick rallied to level the game on 22 minutes thanks to three in a row from O’Neill and one each from Aidan O’Connor and Patrick Reale.

They then went in at the break ahead (0-9 to 1-5) with O’Connor landing a stunning second point of the half.

Limerick continued to impress in the second half with O’Neill causing damage every time he got possession.

The victory looked to be theirs as they were fully dominant going into the closing stages but Flynn’s heroics snatched a dramatic draw for Cork.

Scorers for Limerick: Cathal O’Neill 0-10 (9f), Aidan O’Connor 0-4, Adam English 0-3, Diarmuid Hegarty and Patrick Reale 0-1 each.

Limerick: Jack Franklin; Ronan Lyons, Michael Keane, Fergal O’Connor; Jimmy Quilty, Eathan Hurley, Colin Coughlan; Adam Murrihy, Patrick Kirby; Patrick Reale, Diarmuid Hegarty, Cathal O’Neill; Aidan O’Connor, Adam English, Patrick O’Donovan.

Subs: Liam Lynch for O’Donovan (49), Cian Casey for Reale (50), Conor Hanley Clarke for Murrihy (58).

Social Sharing

Posted in

WATCH: Croom & Western Gaels meet in 2008 Limerick SHC

Tonight's GAA action is the 2008 clash of Croom and Western Gaels in the Limerick Senior Hurling Championship. ...
Read More

WATCH: Croom V Granagh Ballingarry in 2008 Limerick SHC

Tonight's GAA action takes us back to 2008 for the Limerick Senior Hurling Championship for the meeting of ...
Read More

WATCH: Athea face Gerald Griffins in the 1995 West Junior Football Final

For tonight's Limerick GAA action we travel back 25 years to the 1995 Junior Football Final between Athea ...
Read More

QUIZ: How well do you remember Limerick’s 2007 AI SF win over Waterford?

Last week, the epic 2007 All-Ireland semi-final clash between Limerick and Waterford was released in full on the ...
Read More

Reeling in the Years: Limerick GAA’s 1999

Our Reeling in the Years of Limerick GAA continues today as we travel back to 1999. Catch out ...
Read More

WATCH: Granagh Ballingarry v Dromin Athlacca – 2001 Minor Div Final

2001 LimerickGAA County Div 1 Final as GranaghBallingarry Gaa Club beat Dromin Athlacca Gaa on a 1-9 to ...
Read More

GAA Grounds could open from June 8

RTE Sport are reporting today that GAA facilities may be allowed to open from June 8 with clubs ...
Read More

WATCH: Askeaton v Feohanagh – 2000 Limerick West Minor A Final

Sunday night's GAA action is Askeaton Gaa v Feohanagh/Castlemahon GAA in the LimerickGAA West Minor A Final. Commentary by the unmistakable Johnny Walsh. https://www.facebook.com/SportingLimerick/videos/3176746762384949/
Read More