Munster duo selected in Champions Cup Team of the Round

Munster pair Stephen Archer and Gavin Coombes have been selected in the Champions Cup team of the week following the Round of 16.

Munster were on the wrong side of a 40-33 loss to Toulouse in Thomond Park last Saturday and the French side also have two players selected.

Toulouse’s Dupont was chosen as the player of the week as he crossed the whitewash twice with winger Mattis Lebel also chosen.

Blindisde flanker Coombes scored two tries in the defeat and was one of two forwards to achieve that feat. He also made 19 carries, nine tackles, two lineout wins and a turnover.

Archer made six carries and had 11 successful tackles. He also chipped in with a lineout win.

The Heineken Champions Cup Team of the Week 

15 Dillyn Leyds (La Rochelle): beat 10 defenders against Gloucester Rugby, the joint most of any player in the round. Also made 86 metres from 11 carries.

14 Xavier Mignot (Lyon): beat seven defenders and made three clean breaks from his 10 carries against Exeter Chiefs. He also scored a try and made 12/12 tackles. 

13 George Moala (ASM Clermont Auvergne): made the most carries and beat the joint most defenders (8) of any centre in the Round of 16. He also got away four offloads and assisted a try against Wasps. 

12 Levani Botia (La Rochelle): won two crucial turnovers against Gloucester. He also assisted a try and beat seven defenders himself across his 10 carries. 

11 Matthis Lebel (Toulouse): no one made more breaks than Lebel (4) in the Round of 16. He also scored a try and assisted another for Toulouse. 

10 AJ MacGinty (Sale Sharks): scored an incredible 32 points against Scarlets, the most by a player in a Champions Cup game since January 2013. He slotted all 11 of his kicks at goal and crossed for a try, as well as assisting a further two tries for Sale and completing all 12 tackles he attempted.

9 Antoine Dupont (Toulouse): one of six players to score two tries in the round. He also beat nine defenders, made three clean breaks and gained 73 metres from his 11 carries, as well as winning three turnovers.

8 Jordan Joseph (Racing 92): he and Exeter Chiefs’ Jonny Hill were the only two forwards to both score and assist a try in the Round of 16.

7 Hamish Watson (Edinburgh Rugby): made a round–high 20 tackles and notched 28 metres from 10 hard carries. 

6 Gavin Coombes (Munster Rugby): one of just two forwards to score a brace of tries in the Round of 16. He also chipped in with 19 carries, nine tackles, a turnover and two lineout wins. 

5 Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh Rugby): made the most tackles (16) of any player not to miss a single hit in the round. He also won a round–high 10 lineouts. 

4 Jonny Hill (Exeter Chiefs): he and Racing 92’s Jordan Joseph were the only two forwards to both score and assist a try in the Round of 16. He also scored a brace of tries as well as making 8/8 tackles.

3 Stephen Archer (Munster Rugby): made six carries and 11 tackles, as well as winning a lineout.

2 Camille Chat (Racing 92): landed all nine of his lineout throws against Edinburgh. Also scored a try and made the third–most carries of any player in the round, beating seven defenders in the process.

1 Penai Ravai (Bordeaux-Bègles): made the most metres by a prop in the Round of 16 (53), crossing for a try and beating four defenders in the process.

Social Sharing

Posted in

One Munster player named in Irish U20 starting line-up for Six Nations clash

Richie Murphy has named his matchday squad for the upcoming U20 Six Nations match against Scotland in Cardiff on ...
Read More

Gavin Coombes named Munster Rugby Player of the Year

Gavin Coombes has been named Men’s player of the year for Munster Rugby today. The Cork native has ...
Read More

Dorothy Wall Secures Munster’s Women’s Player of the Year Award

Tipperary's Dorothy Wall enjoyed an impressive season with some outstanding performances at both provincial and international level. Wall ...
Read More

Craig Casey awarded Munster’s Young Player of the Year

Scrum half Craig Casey has been named Munster's Young Player of the Year for his overall performance and ...
Read More

Ben Healy scoops John McCarthy award for Academy Player of the Year

Ben Healy has received the John McCarthy award for Greencore Munster Rugby Academy player of the year. The ...
Read More

2021/22 Heineken Champions Cup dates confirmed

Ahead of the official announcement of these agreements that will come at a future date, the 2021/22 will ...
Read More

RTÉ and TG4 to Broadcast the United Rugby Championship from September

The United Rugby Championship will be available on Free-to-Air broadcasters in Ireland for the next four years with ...
Read More

Limerick’s Greg O’Shea called up to Ireland 7’s Squad for Monaco

IRFU Director of Sevens and Women’s Rugby, Anthony Eddy, has made one injury-enforced change to his Ireland Men’s Sevens ...
Read More