Munster name team for Benetton clash

The Munster team has been named for the URC Round 2 clash with Benetton at the Stadio Monigo on Sunday (KO 2pm Irish time).

Head coach Graham Rowntree has made two changes to the starting side which earned a bonus-point 34-21 win over the Sharks in Thomond Park last weekend as Calvin Nash and John Hodnett come into the team.

There are three Academy players in the starting side with Shay McCarthy, Ethan Coughlan and Edwin Edogbo keeping their places from last week while Academy prop Kieran Ryan is named among the replacements.

Josh Wycherley, Diarmuid Barron and Stephen Archer pack down in an unchanged front-row while Edogbo and Fineen Wycherley continue their partnership in the second-row.

Hodnett comes into the back-row at openside where he is joined by captain Jack O’Donoghue and Gavin Coombes.

Coughlan and Joey Carbery continue their half-back partnership while Rory Scannell and Antoine Frisch form an unchanged centre combination.

Shane Daly continues at full-back while Nash, who was a late withdrawal last week, comes into the side on the the left wing while McCarthy moves to the other flank.

There are three changes to the replacements from last week with Alex Kendellen, Paddy Patterson and Seán O’Brien included. New signing O’Brien is in line for his Munster debut.

On the injury front, Paddy Patterson came through training over the past number of weeks with no issues and returns to the squad.

Patterson was unavailable after sustaining a knee injury in training last season and is set for his first appearance since March.

Andrew Conway was not available for selection after picking up a knock and will be assessed by the medical department.

Munster: Shane Daly; Shay McCarthy, Antoine Frisch, Rory Scannell, Calvin Nash; Joey Carbery, Ethan Coughlan; Josh Wycherley, Diarmuid Barron, Stephen Archer; Edwin Edogbo, Fineen Wycherley; Jack O’Donoghue (C), John Hodnett, Gavin Coombes.

Replacements: Scott Buckley, Kieran Ryan, John Ryan, Tom Ahern, Alex Kendellen, Paddy Patterson, Alex Nankivell, Seán O’Brien.

Social Sharing

Posted in

Munster exit URC with Glasgow defeat at Thomond Park | HIGHLIGHTS

Munster gained their first try after RG Snyman set up an attack, passing to Jeremy Loughman who stormed ...
Read More

Munster Rugby issue squad update

Along with the 23 players who featured against Ospreys at Thomond Park on Friday night, there were 17 ...
Read More

Munster through to URC semi-final with Ospreys victory | HIGHLIGHTS

The hosts saw out the remainder of the game to secure a semi-final, fixed for next Saturday at ...
Read More

Munster all set for Ospreys clash | TEAM NEWS

Jeremy Loughman, Niall Scannell and Stephen Archer pack down in the front row with RG Snyman and captain ...
Read More

Munster Rugby issue squad update

Tom Ahern suffered an ankle/lower leg injury against Ulster and has undergone a scan, he is unavailable for ...
Read More

Munster top URC with bonus-point Ulster win | HIGHLIGHTS

The bonus-point win sees Munster secure first seed and Rowntree’s side will now take on Ospreys at Thomond ...
Read More

Munster name team to face Ulster | TEAM NEWS

Kendellen, Ahern and Coombes are set to continue their record of playing in every URC and Champions Cup ...
Read More

Munster Rugby issue squad update ahead of Ulster clash

Munster have won 12 of their 17 games so far, drawing one and losing four to sit top ...
Read More