Munster put Leinster to the sword for Junior Interprovincial title success

Munster were crowned Junior Interprovincial Champions when a storming finish in the final 15 minutes yielded three converted tries for a 39-29 win over Leinster at New Ross.

It was a strong Munster bench that proved crucial as Leinster threatened to take the points with an early second-half rally.

Tadhg Bennett put Munster into an early lead with a penalty but a try from Wes Carter converted by Craig Miller put the home side in front.

Bennett kicked his second penalty on 26 minutes and a try by Ricky Whitney, by Bennett restored Munster’s advantage.

Miller closed the gap to three points before a try from Jesse Smith gave Munster an 18-10 halftime lead.

Leinster hit Munster with three tries inside the opening 12 minutes of the second half to lead 29-18 with tries from Rudhán McDonnell, JJ McIlwrath, and David Nicholson with Miller converting the latter two.

Some shrewd switches by the Munster management produced the desired effect in the final fifteen minutes, with James Collins O’Brien, Brian Mullins, and Keelan Stephenson scoring tries and Niall Leahy converting all three to bring the trophy back to the southern province after a six-year gap.

Munster: Jimmy Glynn (Mallow); Jesse Smith (Charleville & District), Willie Walsh (Waterpark), Brian Mullins (Richmond), Keelan Stephenson (Richmond); Tadhg Bennett (Richmond), Conor Kavanagh (Fethard & District); Noel Roche (Waterpark), Ricky Whitney (Kilfeacle & District), TJ Relihan (Newcastle West); Owen Glynn (Mallow), Paddy O’Donoghue (Galbally); Darragh Crowe (Clanwilliam), Sean Glynn (Mallow), Kevin Kinnane (Kilfeacle & District Capt).

Replacements : Cathal O’Regan (Clonakilty), Darragh O’Shea (Ballincollig), James Collins O’Brien (Bandon), Graham Smith (Crosshaven), Gearoid Phelan (Richmond), Olly Young (Charleville), Niall Leahy (Clanwilliam), Shane Airey (Newcastle West).

Leinster: Ben Watson (Wicklow); Eddie Weaver (Seapoint), Ciaran Fennessy (Athy), Jake McDonald (Kilkenny), Robbie Vallejo (Boyne); Craig Miller (Athy), Tristan Brady (Monkstown); Michael Tracey (Roscrea), David Nicholson (Wicklow), Dylan Casey (Edenderry); James Ryan (New Ross), Wes Carter (Kilkenny capt); Rory Hennessy (Boyne), Zach Jungmann (Seapoint), Ruadhán McDonnell (Monkstown).

Replacements: Will Jennings (Newbridge), Martin Murphy (Monkstown), Eoin Walsh (Gorey), JJ McIlwrath (Cill Dara), Tom Tracey (Newbridge), Matt McKenna (Seapoint), Nick Smith (Boyne RFC), Fionn O’Loughlin (Gorey).

Referee: Christopher Lough (IRFU).

Social Sharing

Posted in

WATCH | “We’re going to put out our best available side” | Johann van Graan looks ahead to Saturday’s clash with Leinster

The URC regular season has it's final weekend of games this weekend where the top seeded teams Munster ...
Read More

Permutations | Second place in the URC still to be decided as Munster take on Leinster in final regular season game

As the inaugural URC playoffs come ever closer, Munster's final game of the regular season against Leinster is ...
Read More

Squad Update | Coombes returns, O’Mahony a doubt as Zebo and De Allende ruled out of Leinster clash

The Munster squad are continuing preparations at the HPC for their interpro clash this weekend. Munster round out ...
Read More

WATCH | “It was a really special night to make the debut and get that try” | Patrick Campbell on that debut against Wasps

It has been a whirlwind couple of years for Patrick Campbell who has All-Ireland and U20 Grand Slam ...
Read More

BREAKING | New Munster Forwards Coach confirmed as Andi Kyriacou

Graham Rowntree's backroom team is beginning to take shape after the appointment of Mike Prendergast last week. Andi ...
Read More

Ireland set to face World Champions South Africa, Fiji And Australia In the November series

Ireland take on New Zealand this summer in a three game test series, but It look like the ...
Read More

Squad Update | No new injury worries following Champions Cup exit at the hands of Toulouse

The province's European campaign came to an end at the weekend in dramatic fashion at the Aviva. Munster ...
Read More

HIGHLIGHTS | Munster A score five as they put Ulster A to the sword

Munster A had to dig deep to put away Ulster in their interprovincial friendly last Friday. Munster A ...
Read More