Munster trio named from the start for Irish U20s ahead of Scotland trip

The UL Bohemians man gets his first start of the championship as he is one of three Munster men named in the pack from the off.

Head Coach Richie Murphy has named his Ireland U20s Match Day Squad, sponsored by PwC, for Friday night’s clash against Scotland in Glasgow (Kick-off 7.15pm, live RTÉ2).

There are four Munster men named from the start in the clash with Scotland as the U20s also remain on course for a Grand Slam. Brian Gleeson and Ruadhan Quinn start for the third successive game while Evan O’Connell gets his first start of the championship. Danny Sheahan is among the substitutes.

Murphy’s starting XV shows three changes from the win over Italy in Treviso in Round 3, with Fiachna Barrett and O’Connell coming into the pack for their first starts of the Championship, and Andrew Osborne named on the wing for his U20s debut.

Henry McErlean, Osborne and Hugh Gavin make up the back three, with John Devine and Hugh Cooney retained in midfield. Sam Prendergast, Player of the Match in the wins over France and Italy, is named to start at out-half, with Fintan Gunne at scrum-half.

Connacht prop Barrett comes into the front row alongside George Hadden and captain Gus McCarthy, with Munster’s O’Connell joining the ever-present Conor O’Tighearnaigh in the second row, while the back row of James McNabney, Quinn and Gleeson remains unchanged.

The match is live on RTÉ2.

Ireland U20s:

15. Henry McErlean (Terenure/Leinster)
14. Andrew Osborne (Naas/Leinster)
13. Hugh Cooney (Clontarf/Leinster)
12. John Devine (Corinthians/Connacht)
11. Hugh Gavin (Galwegians/Connacht)
10. Sam Prendergast (Lansdowne/Leinster)
9. Fintan Gunne (Terenure/Leinster)

1. George Hadden (Clontarf/Leinster)
2. Gus McCarthy (UCD/Leinster)(captain)
3. Fiachna Barrett (Corinthians/Connacht)
4. Evan O’Connell (UL Bohemians/Munster)
5. Conor O’Tighearnaigh (UCD/Leinster)
6. James McNabney (Ballymena/Ulster)
7. Ruadhán Quinn (Old Crescent/Munster)
8. Brian Gleeson (Garryowen/Munster)


16. Danny Sheahan (UCC/Munster)
17. George Morris (Lansdowne/Leinster)
18. Paddy McCarthy (Dublin University/Leinster)
19. Diarmuid Mangan (UCD/Leinster)
20. Liam Molony (Dublin University/Leinster)
21. Oscar Cawley (Naas/Leinster)
22. Matthew Lynch (Dublin University/Leinster)
23. Rory Telfer (Queen’s University/Ulster).

Social Sharing

Posted in

Six Internationals back for Munster ahead of final home URC game while three return from injury

Jack Crowley is one of six players returning from international duty with Mike Haley one of three players ...
Read More

Ireland secure Grand Slam with a bonus point victory over England in Dublin

It is a first-ever Grand Slam success won on home soil and just the fourth overall in Ireland's ...
Read More

Hayes penalty wins Munster Senior Cup treble for Young Munster

Young Munster 27 Nenagh Ormond 24 By Tom Clancy at Thomond Park Young Munster sealed a hat-trick of ...
Read More

Peter O’Mahony Munster’s sole starter in Ireland’s Grand Slam bid

Peter O'Mahony is Munster's sole starter in the side seeking a Grand Slam with Conor Murray dropping to ...
Read More

Munster confirm contract extensions for duo as another departs the province

Hurley will join the previously confirmed Patrick Campbell in progressing from the Academy to the senior squad ahead ...
Read More

Munster Rugby unveil Limerick Centre of Excellence plans

The province is already progressing with a Centre of Excellence in Musgrave Park with work to commence later ...
Read More

Ringrose and Henderson ruled out for England clash with doubts over Sheehan, Kelleher and Doris

There have been a pair of players drafted into the squad for the final round game after a ...
Read More

HIGHLIGHTS | Ireland outlast Scotland in titanic Six Nations clash

Ireland can secure a first-ever Grand Slam in Dublin this Saturday when they welcome England to the Aviva. ...
Read More