Munster Women’s Squad Named For Interpro Semi-Final

Head Coach Laura Guest has named the Munster Women’s team, sponsored by Keane’s jewellers, to take on Connacht in the semi-final of the Women’s Interprovincial Championship at St. Mary’s College RFC, kick-off 1.30pm.

Women’s Interprovincial, Sportsground, Galway 24/8/2019 Connacht Women vs Munster Women Munster players take to the pitch Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Laszlo Geczo

Co-captain Eimear Considine starts at full-back with Stephanie Carroll and Laura O’Mahony on the wings.

Ciara Scanlan is named at inside centre and Enya Breen starts at outside centre to complete the partnership.

Rachel Allen and Nicole Cronin continue their half-back partnership, named at out-half and scrum-half respectively.

Co-captain Chloe Pearse joins Edel Murphy and Fiona Reidy in the front row.

Sarah Garrett is named in the second row alongside Dorothy Wall who earns her first start of the competition.

Grainne Fennelly and Ciara Griffin make up the blindside and openside flank respectively while Sarah Quin is named at Number 8.

Claire Bennett is set to make her debut from the bench with the UL Bohs’ second row involved in All Ireland League and Cup campaigns last season.

Bennett has come through the Munster Talent Identification Programme (TIP), having previously represented Munster U18 Girls and played age-grade rugby with Fethard & District RFC.

Bennett joins Kate Sheehan, Laura Delaney, Fiona Hayes, Clodagh O’Halloran, Christine Coffey, Claire Keohane and Niamh Kavanagh among the replacements.

Munster Women: Eimear Considine (UL Bohemian) (C); Stephanie Carroll (Railway Union), Enya Breen (UL Bohemian), Ciara Scanlan (St. Mary’s College), Laura O’Mahony (UL Bohemian); Rachel Allen (UL Bohemian), Nicole Cronin (UL Bohemian); Chloe Pearse (UL Bohemian) (C), Edel Murphy (UL Bohemian), Fiona Reidy (UL Bohemian), Sarah Garrett (UL Bohemian), Dorothy Wall (Fethard & District), Grainne Fennelly (Thurles), Ciara Griffin (UL Bohemian), Sarah Quin (UL Bohemian).

Replacements: Kate Sheehan (UL Bohemian), Laura Delaney (UL Bohemian), Fiona Hayes (UL Bohemian), Claire Bennett (UL Bohemian)*, Clodagh O’Halloran (UL Bohemian), Christine Coffey (Thurles), Claire Keohane (Railway Union), Niamh Kavanagh (UL Bohemian).

*Denotes uncapped player

Social Sharing

Posted in

Size Does Matter When it Comes to Modern Rugby

THE DAYS of rugby being a game for all shapes and sizes is long gone. That's not 100% ...
Read More

Logan Says Munster Working on Specific Training Plans During Lockdown

The Munster squad have started their second week of remote training with Head of Athletic Performance Denis Logan ...
Read More

WATCH: Isa Nacewa “If you can’t do an 8/10 you shouldn’t be a professional”

THESE were the words of Isa Nacewa recently in Dublin talking to a corporate group on leadership. 8/10 ...
Read More

WATCH: Munster’s season so far

For all participants, the Guinness Pro 14 came to a grinding halt all of a sudden a fortnight ...
Read More

Ardscoil, St Munchins and Crescent tries nominated for Senior Cup Try of the Year

The voting for the 2020 Clayton Hotels Munster Senior School's Cup Try of the Year is now open. ...
Read More

IRFU make €500,000 Available to Clubs Hit By Covid-19 Season Cancellation

The Irish Rugby Football Union has said it will make €500,000 available to clubs due to the cancellation ...
Read More

WATCH: Mike Prendergast says lockdown is “absolute right thing to do”

Sporting Limerick spoke with Racing 92 backs & attack coach Mike Prendergast about the current situation in France ...
Read More

Munster to commence their remote training programme this week

The Munster squad will commence their remote training programme this week. A number of players were following individual ...
Read More