Na Piarsaigh seek 6th consecutive U21 Hurling Championship against Doon

Na Piarsaigh will face Doon tonight in the decider of the Mint Catering U21 Hurling Championship tonight at the Gaelic Grounds at 7.30pm. This will be the third successive time that these teams have met in the final of the competition.

Na Piarsaigh have won the previous 3 encounters against the East Limerick club and have won the previous 5 U21 Championships in a row. Kilmallock were the last team to overcome the Caherdavin outfit way back in the 2011 final.

Na Piarsaigh are bidding for a 12th title overall at this grade in their seventh consecutive final appearance. Doon on the other hand are hoping to win their 5th title.

Doon’s last U21 triumph came in 2005. Since then Kilmallock and Na Piarsaigh have dominated the competition, winning every decider since between them.

Na Piarsaigh will be looking to Senior Inter County players Ronan Lynch and Peter Casey in tonights game. Casey is a slight injury concern however, missing Limerick’s loss to Galway in the league semi-final last Sunday.

Fitzgibbon cup winner Thomas Grimes as well as the Boylan brothers will be key to the Na Piarsaigh cause.

For Doon, Eoghan McNamara, Barry Murphy, Thomas Hayes and Shane O’Connel are the main figures. They will be hoping to avenge the losses of 2015 and 2016 against the all conquering Na Piarsaigh.

Many of these players will know each other extremely well from playing underage hurling for Limerick together.


Social Sharing

Posted in

Sligo a bridge too far for Limerick as Tailteann dream ends

Sligo 2-20Limerick 0-9By Tom Clancy in Markievicz ParkLimerick’s hopes of a trip to Croke Park were wiped away ...
Read More

WATCH | Kiely, Gillane & O’Neill react after historic Munster SHC victory

Limerick made more history when claiming a record breaking sixth Munster Senior Hurling title in a row, thanks ...
Read More

Six of the best – Limerick claim record breaking Munster title

Limerick 1-26Clare 1-20By Tom Clancy in ThurlesLimerick made more history when claiming a record breaking sixth Munster Senior ...
Read More

Confident Limerick march over Tipperary with third straight victory

Tom Clancy in Rathkeale Limerick 1-18Tipperary 1-10Limerick advanced to the last eight of the Tailteann Cup for the ...
Read More

Limerick’s road to the Munster SHC final | RECAP

This set up a three-peat Munster final with Clare, in Thurles on June 9th, while Cork come through ...
Read More

Goals key again as Limerick advance in Tailteann Cup

Limerick 2-14London 0-10 Two first-half goals, in the dying embers of the opening thirty-five minutes were the platform ...
Read More

Limerick name side for London Tailteann Cup clash | TEAM NEWS

Iain Corbett captains the side at half-back, with Barry Coleman on the other flank and Cillian Fahy in ...
Read More

“We’re still here” | John Kiely defiant after booking Munster final spot

Kiely said he was "delighted" that his team's "average performance level is up," but conceded that his players ...
Read More