Newcastle West and Oola pick up impressive first round wins

In a night full of goals in the Limerick SFC, NCW beat St Patricks by 5-12 to 3-7 in a thrilling encounter while Oola had two points to spare against Ballysteen in Mungret, winning 3-10 to 3-8.

Liam Quinn with 1-1 saw St Pats run up an early lead on the 2015 county champions in the opening 10 minutes. Newcastle reeled in their opponents and went into the break with a commanding 1-6 to 1-1 lead, their goal coming courtesy of James Kelly in the 26th minute.

NCW, started the second on fire and scored 2 quick fire goals within 90 seconds of the restart. Intercounty players Iain Corbett and Paul Hannon, goaling for the West side. Newcastle would soon find themselves 3-7 to 1-1 ahead and seemingly out of reach.

However, Pats rallied, and goals from Gearoid Hegarty and Padraig Reale reduced the deficit to 3-10 to 3-4. Yet, Newcastle would pull away again and found two more goals, with Kelly and Corbett each getting their second.

In Mungret, Ballysteen started the brighter and were 1-1 to no score ahead within the opening 5 minutes, with Mark Ranahan getting the goal from the penalty spot.

Conor Ryan struck back with a goal for Oola who struck a killer blow on the stroke of half time with Inter County Hurler Darragh O’Donovan finding the back of the net to give the East Limerick a 2-6 to 1-4 half time lead.

Oola dominated the opening exchanges of the second half and a second Conor Ryan goal pushed them into an 11 point lead, 3-10 to 1-5 entering the final quarter.

Ballysteen fought hard in the remaining 15 minutes finding the net twice with Ranahan getting his second and John O’Shaughnessy also gaoling. Yet it wasn’t enough as Oola held out to secure the win.

The final two games of the first round see Monaleen and Rathkeale face off in Clarina, while St Kierans meet Ballylanders in Bruff. Both throw in at 7pm.


Social Sharing

Posted in

Newcastle West outlast Clonmel Commercials to book Munster final berth

The Magpies needed extra-time to see off the Tipperary champions in Thurles this afternoon. Newcastle West are into ...
Read More

Report | Fossa dominate Castlemahon in one sided Munster semi-final

The game was a sell out in Coolyroe as the Clifford brothers backboned the visiting side. Fossa powered ...
Read More

Caoimhe Costelloe in the running for Camogie All-Star Award

It will be a busy weekend for the star who plays in London in the All-Ireland Junior Club ...
Read More

PREVIEW | Na Piarsaigh face Ballina for place in Munster Intermediate Football final

The Caherdavin men will aim to go one better than 2014 when they were defeated in the semi-finals. ...
Read More

PREVIEW | Newcastle West look to avenge 2015 heartbreak against Clonmel Commercial in Munster Club Senior Football Championship semi-final

The teams meet for the first time in seven years this Sunday in Thurles with a place in ...
Read More

Jimmy Lee says Newcastle West are”mentally very strong” after retaining title for first time

Newcastle West are seeking a first final appearance since 1987 this Sunday in Thurles. Newcastle West are back ...
Read More

“What Clonmel went on to achieve makes it hurt a bit more” | Iain Corbett hoping to avenge 2015 Munster Club loss to Commercials

It is a repeat of their meeting seven years ago where the Limerick side let a four point ...
Read More

Preview | Castlemahon face tough task of Fossa and the Cliffords with a place in the Munster Junior Final on offer

A six point victory in the quarter-final over Shamrocks of Waterford two weeks ago booked Castlemahon's place in ...
Read More