Newcastle West outlast Clonmel Commercials to book Munster final berth

The Magpies needed extra-time to see off the Tipperary champions in Thurles this afternoon.

Newcastle West are into the Munster Senior Club Football Championship final after they beat Clonmel Commercials 1-16 to 1-11 after extra time in Semple Stadium.

Emmet Rigter bagged the all important goal in the first half of extra time as the West side powered past their opponents and into the decider.

They will meet Kerins O’Rahillys in the final in a fortnight’s time after they bested Eire Og Ennis.

27 November 2022; Diarmuid Kelly of Newcastle West during the AIB Munster GAA Football Senior Club Championship Semi-Final match between Clonmel Commercials and Newcastle West at FBD Semple Stadium in Thurles, Tipperary. Photo by Michael P Ryan/Sportsfile

Clonmel looked to have snatched a late result with a pair of points but like the county final, Newcastle West got a last minute score, this time Ruadhan O’Connor popping up with the crucial score in the 8th minute of extra-time.

Newcastle West dominated the opening 25 minutes in Thurles holding a 0-5 to 0-2 lead approaching the interval. But a quickfire 1-2 from the hosts had them 1-4 to 0-5 at the half, Sean O’Connot hitting the net.

Newcastle West levelled shortly after the restart but a pair of Clonmel frees had them in front once more. The Limerick side drew level after 53 minutes from a Eoin Hurley free with Rigter pushing them two clear minutes later.

But a run of Commercials scores looked to have sealed the deal for the Tipp side before O’Connor ensured the extra time.

In the additional period, they limited Clonmel to a solitary point as they avenged the defeat of 2015 to seal a final berth against Kerins O’Rahillys.

Scorers for Newcastle West: Eoin Hurley (0-6, 3 frees, 1m), Emmet Rigter (1-1), Diarmuid Kelly (0-3, free), C. Sheehan (0-3), Iain Corbett, Brian O’Sullivan, Ruadhan O’Connor (all 0-1)

Scorers for Clonmel Commercials: Sean O’Connor (1-2), Jason Lonergan (0-3, 1 free), Jack Kennedy (0-2, 2 frees), Michael Quinlivan (0-2), Cathal Deely, Kevin Fahey (all 0-1)

Social Sharing

Posted in

Derry prove too strong for Limerick in NFL opener

Derry 0-16Limerick 0-4By Tom Clancy in OwenbegDerry proved too strong for Derry in the Allianz Football League Division ...
Read More

Brilliant Bruff defeat Thurles Sarsfields to claim Munster Junior B Championship title

The Tipperary outfit had a goal from an All-Ireland winner in the second half but Bruff replied excellently ...
Read More

Pa Ranahan | It’s a free swing in these early games, why not swing for the fences!

“Be careful what you wish for.” Those were the words of former manager Billy Lee in an interview ...
Read More

Preview | Limerick make long-awaited return to Division 2 of the NFL with trip to Derry

Limerick will end a fifteen year wait to play in the top two tiers of National League football ...
Read More

O’Neill and Coughlan among the scorers as UL ease past TUS and into Fitzgibbon quarters

Brian Ryan’s side are the defending champions and are seeking a third title since 2018. UL booked a ...
Read More

TEAM | Limerick start a pair of League debutants for Division 2 return against Derry

Limerick were beaten by Cork in the McGrath Cup final last Friday night ahead of their return to ...
Read More

UL paired with reigning champions University of Galway in Sigerson Cup quarter-final

The game is a repeat of last year's final where the Galway side were crowned champions for the ...
Read More

Limerick rivals UL and TUS Midwest do battle in Fitzgibbon Cup

The reigning champions can book their quarter-final berth with a win in Castletroy this evening. Limerick colleges UL ...
Read More