O’Neill leads Limerick to victory over Clare

Limerick’s hopes of reaching the Munster MHC Final remain intact after a 0-16 to 0-13 win over Clare at LIT Gaelic Grounds.

Cathal O’Neill top scored for Limerick with 0-7 and put in an outstanding overall performance throughout.

He was ably backed up by Patrick Kirby at midfield and the ever willing Adam English and Adam Murrihy.

Limerick held a deserved 0-7 to 0-3 advantage heading into half time, with O’Neill nailing three. Patrick Reale, Aidan O’Connor, English and Kirby also got a point each.

Electric Ireland Munster Minor Hurling Championship Round 4, LIT Gaelic Grounds, Co. Limerick 9/6/2019 Limerick vs Clare Clare’s Adam Hogan and Adam English of Limerick Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/James Crombie

Clare rallied in the final few minutes of the first half to leave a point in at the break – Limerick 0-7 to 0-6 up.

Two early Clare points at the change of ends saw the Banner in front for the first time, but Limerick soon took control with another scoring spree.

This time it was eight on the trot. O’Neill sent over four, while Murrihy (2), Liam Lynch and Kirby also hit the target.

That gave Limerick a 0-14 to 0-10 lead. Clare came back at Limerick again in the final stages and reduced the lead to one point, but O’Neill and English scores saw Limerick to victory.

Scorers – Limerick: Cathal O’Neill 0-7 (5f), Patrick Kirby and Adam Murrihy 0-2 each, Patrick Reale, Aidan O’Connor and Liam Lynch 0-1 each.

Limerick: Jack Franklin; Ronan Lyons, Michael Keane, Fergal O’Connor; Jimmy Quilty, Ethan Hurley, Adam Murrihy; Cian Casey, Patrick Kirby; Adam English, Patrick Reale, Diarmuid Hegarty; Aidan O’Connor, Cathal O’Neill, Liam Lynch.

Subs: Eddie Stokes for Hegarty (h-t), Patrick O’Donovan for Reale (42), Conor Hanley Clarke for Lynch (59).

Social Sharing

Posted in

WATCH: Donal O’Sullivan on learning from Cork loss ahead of Westmeath

Limerick travel to Cusack Park this Saturday to take on Westmeath in the All-Ireland Football Qualifiers. Limerick defeated ...
Read More

“Improvement” the key for Kiely as Limerick prepare for Tipp rematch in Final

Last Sunday Limerick succumbed to their second defeat of this year’s Munster Hurling Championship when they were beaten ...
Read More

Mullins looking forward to ‘great challenge’ Clare in Munster decider

While the Limerick senior hurlers limped into the Munster final on points differential after their four-point loss to ...
Read More

Referee for Munster Hurling Final confirmed

Carlow native Paud O'Dwyer will take charge of Limerick's Munster Hurling final clash with Tipperary in the Gaelic ...
Read More

Limerick U20s announce team for Clare clash

Limerick take on Clare in Ennis this evening in their third game of the Liam Connor Cup. Defeat ...
Read More

Leggy Limerick & Stars of the Future- Talking points after Tipperary defeat

Limerick were defeated 1-22 to 0-21 by Tipperary in their final group game of the Munster championship yesterday. ...
Read More

Munster Final: Time and Ticket information

The LIT Gaelic Grounds will host its first Munster Hurling Final since 2016 in two weeks time when ...
Read More

Limerick downed by Tipperary but still reach Munster Final

Limerick fell to a 1-22 to 0-21 defeat to Tipperary in Thurles but still managed to reach the ...
Read More