OPINION: Limerick’s poor record in Munster Club this decade makes for grim viewing

The Munster Club Championships continue this weekend with three Limerick sides in action.

For the first time since 2019, a Limerick side will feature in the Munster Club championship this weekend with Newcastle West, Mountcollins and Kildimo Pallaskenry in action.

Newcastle West host the Nire and Mountcollins welcome Ballina on Saturday afternoon. The following day Kildimo Pallaskenry head to Corofin in the Munster championship.

Next week, Kilmallock, Mungret St Pauls and Caherline will be in Munster Hurling action.

After the absence of the 2020 competitions, the appetite is certainly there in Limerick circles as we approach the festive season.

Each team will harbour genuine aspirations of progressing from the province and continuing their season into the new year.

But, in recent years, the Munster Club championships have been a barren spot for the Limerick contingent.

Munster Club Senior Football Championship Quarter Final, Mallow 10/11/2019 Nemo Rangers v Newcastle West William Hurley of Newcastle West Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Tom O’Hanlon

Limerick’s record in the Munster club championship in recent years has been poor at best with little in way of success in the Provincial championship’s this decade outside of Na Piarsaigh.

In 2019, Croom were the only Limerick side to pick up a win in the championship as they beat Ballyduff Lower in the Junior championship, despite not winning county honours.

Newcastle West pushed eventual champions Nemo Rangers all the way but lost out by three as Blackrock took All-Ireland finalists Fr O’Neills to extra-time.

But despite spirited performances, both ended the campaign with a solitary L beside their name, as did Patrickswell, Galtee Gaels and Castletown Ballyagran.

And in the grand scheme of thing, Limerick’s record in the Munster championship in the last decade makes for grim reading.

AIB GAA Munster Senior Hurling Club Championship Final, Semple Stadium, Thurles, Co. Tipperary 19/11/2017 Ballygunner vs Na Piarsaigh Na Piarsaigh celebrate Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/James Crombie

Limerick winners in Munster Club championship in the last decade (2010-2019)




Na Piarsaigh (Senior Hurling)

Effin (Intermediate Hurling)




Na Piarsaigh (Senior Hurling)


Kilmallock Senior Hurling

AIB Munster Club Senior Hurling Championship Final 23/11/2014 Kilmallock vs Cratloe Kilmallock’s Robbie Egan, Graeme Mulcahy and Bryan O’Sullivan celebrate at the final whistle Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Ryan Byrne


Na Piarsaigh (Senior Hurling)




Na Piarsaigh (Senior Hurling)





With six Limerick teams entering Munster championship action each year, to have just 3 teams win a Munster championship is poor.

In total Limerick won six Munster Club championship’s with Na Piarsaigh accounting for four of those triumphs.

It gives Limerick a 10% strike rate in the competitions overall.

This is hugely boosted by the fact that Na Piarsaigh and Kilmallock won 50% of the Senior Munster Club Championships on offer this decade.

There wasn’t one football trophy won, with only a couple of teams even reaching finals over the decade.

AIB Munster GAA Senior Club Football Championship Semi-Final, Mallow, Co. Cork 12/11/2017 Nemo Rangers vs Adare A general view of the scoreboard at full time Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Ken Sutton

Below is a breakdown of the number of Munster Championship’s won by each county over the last decade:*

1.Kerry: 24 (24 Football)

2. Cork: 17 (12 Hurling, 5 Football)

3. Waterford: 7 (All Hurling)

4. Limerick: 6 (All Hurling)

5. Tipperary: 4 (3 Hurling, 1 Football)

6. Clare: 2 (Both Hurling)

While the Munster Club results have little bearing on Intercounty success and are largely inconsequential to clubs whose main focus all year is to win the county title, the results, or lack thereof is worrying for those in Limerick GAA.

But with Limerick’s progression in the intercounty scene hopefully, the championships will prove more fruitful across all grades in both codes.

Social Sharing

Posted in

Limerick learn opponents for 2022 Munster Minor and U20 Championships

The draws for the Munster minor and U20 competitions were made last night. Limerick now know their opponents ...
Read More

TUS overcome TUD to keep Fitzgibbon Cup hopes alive

The Limerick college keep their hopes alive with a big Fitzgibbon Cup win. TUS Midwest held off the ...
Read More

Treaty Talk EP170 | Footballers kick off league campaign as Hurlers Clinch Munster Hurling cup

Jack Neville and Matt O'Callaghan reflect on Limerick's Munster Hurling Cup victory and preview the footballers League opener. ...
Read More

Limerick pair Creamer and Hickey graduate from the Jim Madden GPA Leadership Programme

The Limerick duo were honoured recently after completing the programme. Limerick’s Seamus Hickey and Muireann Creamer were among ...
Read More

UL paired with Queen’s in Sigerson Cup quarter-finals

The quarter-finals of the Sigerson Cup take place next week. The University of Limerick will face Queen's University ...
Read More

Limerick Ladies Footballer reveal new jersey as they announce partnership with Azzurri

Azzurri will manufacture the Limerick Ladies Senior Football gear for 2022. Limerick LGFA have announced a partnership with ...
Read More

Mary I fall short as Cian Lynch helps NUIG into Fitzgibbon Cup quarter-finals

The 2016 and '17 champions were beaten in Dangan last night. A Cian Lynch led NUIG held off ...
Read More

Pa Ranahan: Limerick must build on positives from McGrath Cup with good start in the League crucial

With Pharrell Williams taking over the airwaves, February 2014 also saw the last TUS Gaelic Grounds meeting of ...
Read More