OPINION: Limerick’s poor record in Munster Club this decade makes for grim viewing

In the last month, Limerick have had six representatives enter the Munster Club Championship.

Those representatives were;

  • Patrickswell -Senior Hurling Championship
  • Newcastle West – Senior Football Championship
  • Blackrock – Intermediate Hurling Championship
  • Galtee Gaels – Intermediate Football Championship
  • Croom– Junior Football Championship
  • Castletown/Ballyagran- Junior Hurling Championship

Six teams and just the one win makes for grim reading for those with a Limerick interest.

Croom’s victory over Balyduff Lower in the Junior Championship was the only Limerick win in Munster this calendar year.

They lost out in the semi-final to Mullinahone of Tipperary.

Granted, some of those teams can come away from their respective games with their heads held high but a loss is a loss in any right.

Blackrock pushed Cork Premier Intermediate Fr. O’Neills all the way before losing out in extra time.

The Cork side would go onto win the Munster championship last weekend.

Similarily, Newcastle West only lost out to Nemo Rangers by a goal, but that’s a loss nonetheless.

Munster Club Senior Football Championship Quarter Final, Mallow 10/11/2019 Nemo Rangers v Newcastle West William Hurley of Newcastle West Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Tom O’Hanlon

Both Limerick’s senior champions, Patrickswell and Newcastle lost their Munster Championship games against Ballygunner and Nemo Rangers respectively.

While each came into the game as the underdog, that will count for little for those involved.

Limerick’s record in the Munster club championship in recent years has been poor at best with little in way of success in the Provincial championship’s this decade outside of Na Piarsaigh.

AIB GAA Munster Senior Hurling Club Championship Final, Semple Stadium, Thurles, Co. Tipperary 19/11/2017 Ballygunner vs Na Piarsaigh Na Piarsaigh celebrate Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/James Crombie

Limerick winners in Munster Club championship this decade (2010-2019)




Na Piarsaigh (Senior Hurling)

Effin (Intermediate Hurling)




Na Piarsaigh (Senior Hurling)


Kilmallock Senior Hurling

AIB Munster Club Senior Hurling Championship Final 23/11/2014 Kilmallock vs Cratloe Kilmallock’s Robbie Egan, Graeme Mulcahy and Bryan O’Sullivan celebrate at the final whistle Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Ryan Byrne


Na Piarsaigh (Senior Hurling)




Na Piarsaigh (Senior Hurling)





With six Limerick teams entering Munster championship action each year, to have just 3 teams win a Munster championship is poor.

In total Limerick won six Munster Club championship’s with Na Piarsaigh accounting for four of those triumphs.

It gives Limerick a 10% strike rate in the competitions overall.

This is hugely boosted by the fact that Na Piarsaigh and Kilmallock won 50% of the Senior Munster Club Championships on offer this decade.

There wasn’t one football trophy won, with only a couple of teams even reaching finals over the decade.

AIB Munster GAA Senior Club Football Championship Semi-Final, Mallow, Co. Cork 12/11/2017 Nemo Rangers vs Adare A general view of the scoreboard at full time Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Ken Sutton

Below is a breakdown of the number of Munster Championship’s won by each county over the last decade:*

1.Kerry: 22 (22 Football)

2. Cork: 15 (11 Hurling, 4 Football)

3. Waterford: 7 (All Hurling)

4. Limerick: 6 (All Hurling)

5. Tipperary: 4 (3 Hurling, 1 Football)

6. Clare: 2 (Both Hurling)

*The 2019 Senior Football, Intermediate Football, Junior Hurling and Junior Football championship finals have yet to be played.

While the Munster Club results have little bearing on Intercounty success and are largely inconsequential to clubs whose main focus all year is to win the county title, the results, or lack thereof is worrying for those in Limerick GAA.

Hopefully, the next decade will prove more fruitful across all grades in both codes.

Social Sharing

Posted in

WATCH: Banogue and Knockane contest epic 2019 JBFC Final

Tonights Limerick GAA action from the archive is last years Junior B Football Championship between Knockane and Banogue. ...
Read More

WATCH: Limerick meet Waterford in the 2007 Munster Intermediate Hurling Final

Tonights Limerick GAA action from the archives is the 2007 Munster intermediate final between Limerick and Waterford in ...
Read More

WATCH: 2018 Minor Premier Hurling final between Garryspillane and Patrickswell

For our Saturday night GAA action from the Archive, we go back to the 2018 Minor Premier Hurling ...
Read More

WATCH: Kilmallock face Na Piarsaigh in the 2018 Limerick SHC semi-final

For our Saturday night action, we go back to 2018 to the Limerick SHC semi-final between Na Piarsaigh ...
Read More

WATCH: 2018 Limerick SHC semi-final between Patrickswell and Doon

Tonight's Limerick GAA action from the archives is the 2018 Limerick Senior Hurling Championship semi-final between Patrickswell and ...
Read More

TG4 to broadcast the Limerick SHC clash between Na Piarsaigh and Kilmallock

Limerick Senior Hurling Championship is set to be televised on TG4 from July. TG4 confirmed on Friday that ...
Read More

No water carrier but water breaks as GAA reiterate new rules for return to play

Ahead of the return to championship action in the GAA from next week, the association have drawn up ...
Read More

Reeling in the Years: Limerick GAA’s 2017

Our Reeling in the Years of Limerick GAA continues today as we go back to 2017 as the ...
Read More