Plenty of Limerick interest in Ladbrokes Easter Cup

Limerick with hopes as Ladbrokes Easter Cup begins with prize fund of over €50,000

The Ladbrokes Easter Cup is returning to Shelbourne Park this weekend, marking 91 years of the competition at Ireland’s premier greyhound stadium – with Limerick having a number of hopefuls among the 48 entries.

Derby finalist Slippy Cian, owned by the Full House Syndicate in Limerick, is among the entries. Irish St Leger finalist Clonbrien Prince – owned by Kay Murphy in Athlacca – will also line up, as will Braveheart Bobby, trained and owned by Darren McCoy of Newcastle West.

2018 Irish Greyhound Derby winner Ballyanne Sim – who runs in the same heat as Slippy Cian – is another other eye catcher to take to the traps.

The competition, ran over 550 yards, traditionally attracts the top Irish greyhounds in training, with this year’s winner receiving €25,000. Ladbrokes has a long history with racing at Shelbourne, having previously sponsored two other Classic events, the Ladbrokes Open 600 and the Irish Greyhound Derby.Speaking at the event’s launch, Patrick Flynn, Sales, Commercial & Operations Manager at Shelbourne Park, commented:

Ladbrokes have always had a strong affinity to greyhound racing here at Shelbourne Park. Their sponsorship of the prestigious Easter Cup demonstrates their continued supportfor the Irish greyhound racing industry. The Ladbrokes Easter Cup provides the perfect platformto continue to build on previous sponsorship partnerships. We’re looking forward to some high quality racing action over the four weekends of competition, and I’m sure the excitement will continue to build until we reach the final on March 9.” 

Jackie Murphy, Director for Ladbrokes Ireland, added: 

“Ladbrokes are delighted to continue our long standing relationship with Shelbourne Park. The Easter Cup is the ideal event for us to be involved with and we look forward to sponsoring this prestigious event guaranteed to produce four great nights of greyhound racing.” 

Mick The Miller, arguably the most famous racing greyhound ever, is among the dogs to have contested the trophy. He was beaten by half a length in the 1929 running. Spanish Battleship won in 1954 and 1955 in the middle of his Derby hat-trick. The winner of the 2018 event, Colarhouse Gerry, crossed the line in a time of 29.56 in the 2018 final. The Ladbrokes Easter Cup will be ran over four consecutive Saturdays, starting on Saturday, February 16, with the final taking place on Saturday, March 9.

Key Event Dates: 

First Round Heats – Saturday 16 February

Second Round Heats – Saturday 23 February

Semi-Finals – Saturday 2 March

Final – Saturday 9 March 

Prize money breakdown:

Winner – €25,000

Runner-up – €7,500

Third – €5,000

4th, 5th & 6th in final – €2,500 each

4th, 5th & 6th in semi finals – €1,500 each

2nd round – €200 (x12)

All heats – €250 (x12) 

Social Sharing

Posted in

Jack Neville