PREVIEW | Intermediate Hurling Championship decider between Croagh-Kilfinny and Na Piarsaigh takes place this weekend

Both teams were successful in their respective semi-final clashes which were played on the 23rd of October.

The Limerick Intermediate Hurling Championship comes to a close this weekend with Na Piarsaigh and Croagh-Kilfinny battling it out for the honours in Ballyagran on Sunday.

Throw-in for the final is scheduled for 1pm. The winner will look to join an illustrious list of recent champions with no fewer than three going on to win promotion from the premier intermediate ranks in the form of Kildimo Pallaskenry, Mungret St Pauls and Cappamore.

Last Ten Limerick Intermediate Champions

  • 2021: Effin
  • 2020: Newcastle West
  • 2019: Glenroe
  • 2018: Dromin Athlacca
  • 2017: Kildimo Pallaskenry
  • 2016: Mungret St Pauls
  • 2015: Cappamore
  • 2014: Pallasgreen
  • 2013: Dromin Athlacca
  • 2012: Ballybrown

Sunday’s decider will be the first time either team lines out in over a month, with their previous fixtures being their semi-final victories. Croagh-Kilfinny were comfortable winners against Pallasgreen in their last-four tie with the score ending 1-21 to 0-12 while their final opponents clinched their place by the skin of their teeth with a 0-17 to 0-16 win over Granagh-Ballingarry.

Both of those ties took place on Sunday October 23, six weeks from the final.

The two teams head into Sunday’s decider with flawless records, winning each of their six games this season and both topping their respective groups. As well as holding 100% records, both were one point winners over Granagh Ballingarry, CK in the first round and Na Piarsaigh in their most recent game.

Paths to the Final

Na Piarsaigh

  • 1-19 : 1-18 v Feohanagh (W)
  • 2-19 : 0-14 v Caherline (W)
  • 3-15 : 2-15 v Murroe Boher (W)
  • 3-14 : 2-10 v Croom (W)
  • 2-20 : 2-16 Bruree (W)
  • SF – 0-17 : 0-16 v Granagh Ballingarry (W)


  • 0-17 : 0-16 v Granagh-Ballingarry (W)
  • 0-19 : 1-15 v Pallasgreen (W)
  • 0-18 : 0-14 v Hospital Herbertstown (W)
  • 4-22 : 0-16 v Kilmallock (W)
  • 0-22 : 0-16 v Knockaderry (W)
  • SF – 1-21 : 0-12 v Pallasgreen (W)

It’s familiar territory for both sides on Sunday who have made up one half of the IHC final for consecutive seasons now. Croagh Kilfinny were defeated by Effin in 2021, with the score ending 0-22 to 0-15 in the South sides favour. Na Piarsaigh reached the 2020 decider, losing out to Newcastle West after extra-time.

A place in the Premier Intermediate Hurling Championship is also at stake for the winner which will be a first for either team since its inaugural season, another reward for what’s set to be an interesting final. For Na Piarsaigh’s second side it would be an incredible achievement to add Intermediate honours to the senior title they won last month. Similarly Croagh Kilfinny are looking for their own bit of history after capturing a maiden junior title just two seasons ago.

One of the two will have to sacrifice their unbeaten run while the other will complete an extremely impressive 2022 IHC triumph.

Na Piarsaigh face Croagh-Kilfinny at 1pm in Ballyagran this Sunday in the Limerick Intermediate Hurling Championship Final.

Social Sharing

Posted in

Derry prove too strong for Limerick in NFL opener

Derry 0-16Limerick 0-4By Tom Clancy in OwenbegDerry proved too strong for Derry in the Allianz Football League Division ...
Read More

Brilliant Bruff defeat Thurles Sarsfields to claim Munster Junior B Championship title

The Tipperary outfit had a goal from an All-Ireland winner in the second half but Bruff replied excellently ...
Read More

Pa Ranahan | It’s a free swing in these early games, why not swing for the fences!

“Be careful what you wish for.” Those were the words of former manager Billy Lee in an interview ...
Read More

Preview | Limerick make long-awaited return to Division 2 of the NFL with trip to Derry

Limerick will end a fifteen year wait to play in the top two tiers of National League football ...
Read More

O’Neill and Coughlan among the scorers as UL ease past TUS and into Fitzgibbon quarters

Brian Ryan’s side are the defending champions and are seeking a third title since 2018. UL booked a ...
Read More

TEAM | Limerick start a pair of League debutants for Division 2 return against Derry

Limerick were beaten by Cork in the McGrath Cup final last Friday night ahead of their return to ...
Read More

UL paired with reigning champions University of Galway in Sigerson Cup quarter-final

The game is a repeat of last year's final where the Galway side were crowned champions for the ...
Read More

Limerick rivals UL and TUS Midwest do battle in Fitzgibbon Cup

The reigning champions can book their quarter-final berth with a win in Castletroy this evening. Limerick colleges UL ...
Read More