PREVIEW | Limerick host Tipperary in Minor Football Phase One opener

Ryan has named his side for the clash with Tipperary with just one survivor from the team that was defeated in last year’s decider.

John Ryan and his Limerick minor football team begin the Phase One of their Munster Championship campaign this evening when they play host to Tipperary in Mick Neville Park.

It is the first of three guaranteed games in the first phase of Munster that pairs Limerick with Tipperary, Clare and Waterford. Each team plays each other once with the top two reaching the final and also earning a place in the Munster semi-finals proper.

Last year, Limerick reached the decider where they were beaten comprehensively by this evening’s opponents in Mallow. That ended their campaign but this year, both finalists will advance.

Ryan has named his side for the clash with Tipperary, that throws in at 7pm on Thursday evening, with just one survivor from the team that was defeated in last year’s decider. Aidan O’Shea captains the side from midfield after bagging their only goal against Tipperary in 2022.

Elsewhere it is all change as the Shannonsiders aim to kick off their campaign with a win prior to their trip to Miltown Malbay this day week. Limerick will conclude the phase one section of Munster against Waterford in Mick Neville Park on April 27 with the final down for May 11. This year’s Munster championship semi-finals are to be played on May 18.

John Ryan has named an extensive management team with John Murphy (Fr Caseys), Liam O’Connell (Mungret St Pauls), Brendan Donnelly (Bruff), Packie O’Gorman (Cratloe) and Tom Neville (Kildimo/Pallaskenry). Angela Hogan (Whitegate) is the physio, David Lernihan (Kilmihill) will act as S&C while Jaqueline O’Connor (Athea) is Liaison Officer.

16 September 2018; Limerick manager John Ryan prior to the TG4 All-Ireland Ladies Football Junior Championship Final match between Limerick and Louth at Croke Park, Dublin. Photo by David Fitzgerald/Sportsfile

Last year, Limerick began their campaign with a seven-point loss to the Premier before rebounding with successive wins over Clare and Waterford. In 2021, Limerick ended a 23-year wait for a place in the Munster Minor Football final before being downed by Cork.

Tonight’s game will be streamed live by Munster GAA TV.

Watch Limerick v Tipperary.


  1. Sam Guerin (Kildimo-Pallaskenry)
  2. Cian O’Sullivan (Kildimo-Pallaskenry)
  3. Cian Costelloe (Cappagh-Rathkeale),
  4. Kieran O’Kelly (Croom)
  5. Liam Og Glynn (Ahane)
  6. Cathal Woulfe (Fr Caseys)
  7. Sam Colgan (Askeaton-Ballysteen-Kilcornan)
  8. Aidan O’Shea (Cappagh-Rathkeale)
  9. Evan Curry (Athea)
  10. Ronan O’Connell (Fr Caseys)
  11. Ross Allen (Kildimo-Pallaskenry)
  12. Padraic Phelan (Pallasgreen)
  13. Padraic Murphy (Askeaton-Ballysteen-Kilcornan)
  14. Tommy Glynn (Na Piarsaigh)
  15. Adam Murphy (Fr Caseys)

Subs: Charlie Lane (South Liberties), Kevin Morrow (Mungret St Pauls), James Hunt (Athea), Calum Buckley (Athea), Cillian Meade (St Senans), Con Kirby (Crecora-Manister), Darragh Hogan (Mungret St Pauls), Andrew Lyons (Newcastle West), Rory Mullins (Mungret St Pauls).

GAA coverage on Sporting Limerick is brought to you in association with Noels Menswear, shop online here or visit in Dooradoyle, Limerick City or Newcastle West.

Social Sharing

Posted in

Quaid, Hayes and O’Donoghue all start as Limerick team named for Dublin showdown

O'Donoghue captains the side, the Na Piarsaigh man rekindling his relationship with Darragh O'Donovan in the middle of ...
Read More

Limerick fall to Sligo in Allianz Football League clash

Sligo headed in at the interval with a five point lead, which they would also hold when the ...
Read More

Limerick footballers unchanged for Sligo Allianz League visit

It means Newcastlewest man Iain Corbett captains the side once more, with a number of positional switches being ...
Read More

Mary Immaculate deny University of Limerick to reclaim Fitzgibbon crown

Mary Immaculate College 2-14University of Limerick 1-15 Mary Immaculate College claimed a third-ever Fitzgibbon Cup, at the expense ...
Read More

“We will be disappointed” | John Kiely speaks following tense Westmeath victory

It was a tense affair in TEG Cusack Park, with Westmeath arguably outworking the Shannonsiders, to the dismay ...
Read More

Ó Dálaigh goal key as sluggish Limerick get over Westmeath in hurling league

Westmeath 0-16Limerick 1-19By Tom Clancy in TEG Cusack ParkLimerick made it back-to-back victories, defeating Westmeath by six points ...
Read More

Youthful Limerick put on dominant Antrim display to kick off Allianz League

Dan Morrissey, Diarmaid Byrnes and Gearóid Hegarty all started in what was a youthful Limerick side, with David ...
Read More

Stoppage time heartbreak for Ardscoil Rís in Harty Cup final

There was stoppage time heart-break for Ardscoil Rís as they fell to St Joseph’s CBS Nenagh in the ...
Read More