Preview | Limerick minor footballers seek Munster Phase One final place in Waterford

Limerick head to Lemybrien seeking a place in the Phase One final.

Waterford will hold home advantage this evening when they welcome Limerick to Lemybrien in the final round of phase one of the Munster Minor Football Championship.

Both sides can qualify for the decider but Limerick are in pole position.

Limerick know a win or draw against the Deise with a defeat for Clare against Tipperary will see them into the Phase One final. 

Were Limerick and Clare to lose, it would come down to points differential with Limerick currently (-2), Clare (+21) and Waterford (-46).

Tipperary are two from two thus far and know that even defeat to Clare could see them through on points difference as they are +27 as it stands.

Limerick kicked off their campaign with a seven point loss to Tipp in Thurles. 

However, John Keane’s men replied in style with a 2-8 to 0-9 win over Clare last week in Mick Neville Park to reignite their final hopes.

Keane has named an unchanged side for tonight’s clash that has a 7pm throw in time and will be streamed live by StreamSportIreland.

Watch Limerick v Waterford 

The top two in phase one will meet in the final with the winner advancing to the Munster semi-final where they will play the losers of Cork and Kerry with the winner of that game advancing to the provincial decider.

Tonight’s game is the fourth clash of Limerick and Waterford since Saturday with the Senior and U20 hurlers claiming wins while the minor hurlers were defeated on Tuesday evening.

Limerick team to face Waterford.

1 Jake Foley Mungret St Pauls
2 Ethan Browne Kildimo Pallaskenry
3 Cathal Mangan Croom
4 Shane O’Sullivan Kildimo Pallaskenry
5 Calum Boyle Fr Caseys
6 Cian Harnett Fr. Casey’s
7 Paddy Downey Oola
8 Aidan O Shea Cappagh
9 Micheal Keating Adare
10 Diarmuid Hynes Mungret St Pauls
11 Tommy Ryan Dromcollogher/Broadford
12 Bobby Smith Ballybrown
13 Luke Walsh Mungret St Pauls
14 Stephen Young Cappagh
15 Michael Kilbridge Fr. Casey’s
16 Conor Dowling Castletown Ballyagran
17 Tiernan Meaney Kildimo Pallaskenry
18 Jamie Young Cappagh
19 Senan Walsh St. Senans
20 John Fitzgerald Cappagh
21 Tom Lloyd Mungret St Pauls
22 Aaron Considine Claughaun
23 Bailey Ryan Galbally
24 Evan Curry Athea

Social Sharing

Posted in

John Kiely’s management team confirmed for 2024

Joe O'Connor returns to the fold as High Performance Manager, joined by John Flavin who comes into the ...
Read More

Donal O’Sullivan announces intercounty retirement

The news that the Monaleen man is retiring from intercounty football will be greeted with great disappointment. Limerick ...
Read More

Lacklustre Na Piarsaigh bow out to Ballygunner

Na Piarsaigh slumped to a four point loss in their Munster Senior Club Hurling Championship semi-final, against Ballygunner ...
Read More

Aaron Gillane wins 2023 Hurler of the Year

Patrickswell sharpshooter Aaron Gillane crowned a superb 2023 for both himself and Limerick by claiming the 2023 All ...
Read More

Limerick rewarded with magnificent seven All-Star spots following remarkable four-in-a-row

The Treaty County lead the way with Kilkenny capturing five places, Clare having two and Galway's Conor Whelan ...
Read More

Newcastle West exit Munster championship after Clonmel Commercials loss

Jimmy Lee's men bowed out of the provincial championship after a seven-point loss in FBD Semple Stadium on ...
Read More

‘1973: Keeping the Dream Alive‘ officially launches at the Woodlands

Limerick's 1973 All-Ireland win has been commemorated with the release of this new book, which was launched on ...
Read More

Newcastle West clinch three-in-a-row while Mungret promoted to Senior | Football Finals Round-Up

Jimmy Lee's men won by the minimum in the TUS Gaelic Grounds, with Mungret St Paul's getting past ...
Read More