PREVIEW | Na Piarsaigh face Ballina for place in Munster Intermediate Football final

The Caherdavin men will aim to go one better than 2014 when they were defeated in the semi-finals.

Na Piarsaigh take on Ballina in the 2022 AIB Munster GAA Football Intermediate Club Championship semi final this Sunday in Kilmallock. 

This match will see one of these teams face either Rathmore or Kanturk for the provincial title in a fortnight.

Na Piarsaigh reached the intermediate semi-final after beating Waterford champions Roanmore two weeks ago. Evan Sweeneys two goals for the Caherdavin side took the game away from their opponents as they continued their winning campaign.

Roll of Honour

  • 2012: Finuge(Kerry)
  • 2013: Clyda Rovers(Cork)
  • 2014: Ardfert(Kerry)
  • 2015: St. Mary’s Cahersiveen(Kerry)
  • 2016: Kenmare Shamrocks(Kerry)
  • 2017: An Ghaeltacht(Kerry)
  • 2018: Kilcummin(Kerry)
  • 2019: Templenoe(Kerry)
  • 2020: N/A
  • 2021: Na Gaeil, Tralee(Kerry)

Roanmore Goalkeeper Josh Sheridan, made two fine saves that kept his side in touch and when his teammate Paul O’Sullivan notched a goal with ten to go he got his side back to 1-9 to 1-5 before Sweeney’s confirmation goal in the dying embers.

The Limerick champions come into this undefeated beating St Senans by three points and getting a walkover against Bruff before a draw against Crecora Manister followed.

They were able to get back to winning ways with a four victory over St Patrick’s and getting another walkover against Glin to finish out the group.

Two point victories in both the final and semi-final against Mungret and Dromcollogher Broadford saw the city outfit crowned champions of Limerick going into this provincial semi-final.

Road to the final


  • Rd1:Bt Borrisokane (WO)
  • Rd2:Lst CJ Kickhams Mulinahone 0-08 to 2-10
  • Rd3:Bt Moyne/Templetuohy 0-11 to 0-03
  • QF: Bt Galtee Rovers/St Pecaun 2-12 to 0-09
  • SF: Bt Grangemockler Ballyneale 2-11 to 0-12
  • Final: Bt CJ Kickhames Mulinahon 1-13 to 1-4

Na Piarsaigh

  • Rd1:Bt St Senans 0-12 to 0-09
  • Rd2:Bt Bruff (WO)
  • Rd3:Drw Crecora Manister 0-08 to 1-5
  • Rd4:Bt St Patrick’s 1-11 to 1-07
  • Rd5:Bt Glin (WO)
  • SF:Bt Mungret St Paul’s 3-12 to 3-10
  • Final:Bt Dromcollogher Broadford 2-8 to 2-6
  • Munster QF: Bt Roanmore 2-10 to 1-5

The Tipperary champions also had an impressive group campaign only losing to CJ Kickhams Mulinahone in the second round of fixtures as they fell to a 2-10 to 0-8 defeat. They picked up an eight-point win over Moyne/Templetuohy before and a walkover against Borrisokane.

A nine-point quarter-final win over Galtee Rovers/St Pecaun gave them a county semi-final against Grangemockler Ballyneale which they won by four points scoring 2-10 to 0-12.

A nine-point resounding final win over the team that beat them in the group already, CJ Kickhams Mulinahone, gave them the championship crown and a provincial semi-final place.

Rathmore from Kerry and Corks Kanturk face off in the other semi-final to fight for the provincial title in Páirc Uí Chaoimh at 1pm on Saturday.

Social Sharing

Posted in

Derry prove too strong for Limerick in NFL opener

Derry 0-16Limerick 0-4By Tom Clancy in OwenbegDerry proved too strong for Derry in the Allianz Football League Division ...
Read More

Brilliant Bruff defeat Thurles Sarsfields to claim Munster Junior B Championship title

The Tipperary outfit had a goal from an All-Ireland winner in the second half but Bruff replied excellently ...
Read More

Pa Ranahan | It’s a free swing in these early games, why not swing for the fences!

“Be careful what you wish for.” Those were the words of former manager Billy Lee in an interview ...
Read More

Preview | Limerick make long-awaited return to Division 2 of the NFL with trip to Derry

Limerick will end a fifteen year wait to play in the top two tiers of National League football ...
Read More

O’Neill and Coughlan among the scorers as UL ease past TUS and into Fitzgibbon quarters

Brian Ryan’s side are the defending champions and are seeking a third title since 2018. UL booked a ...
Read More

TEAM | Limerick start a pair of League debutants for Division 2 return against Derry

Limerick were beaten by Cork in the McGrath Cup final last Friday night ahead of their return to ...
Read More

UL paired with reigning champions University of Galway in Sigerson Cup quarter-final

The game is a repeat of last year's final where the Galway side were crowned champions for the ...
Read More

Limerick rivals UL and TUS Midwest do battle in Fitzgibbon Cup

The reigning champions can book their quarter-final berth with a win in Castletroy this evening. Limerick colleges UL ...
Read More