Report | Fossa dominate Castlemahon in one sided Munster semi-final

The game was a sell out in Coolyroe as the Clifford brothers backboned the visiting side.

Fossa powered past Castlemahon and into the Munster Junior Club Football final after a dominant win in Coolyroe.

In the end it finished 1-22 to 0-5 with Fossa limiting the hosts to a single point in the first half. 

The Clifford brothers did combine for 0-8, both grabbing four but it was the exploits of the O’Shea brothers that caught they eye as they hit 1-10 from play between them.

Emmet had. 1-7, including the games only goal while Tadhg added three.

Alan Roche kicked four of Castlemahon’s scores while Mike Fitzgibbon had the other.

Roche actually got the hosts off to the perfect start with the first score of the game after four minutes.

But they wouldn’t score again until midway through the second half as Fossa took over.

Scores from the O’Sheas and the Clifford had them 1-12 to 0-1 to the good at the half.

Fitzgibbon eventually had their second which marginally reduced the 1-18 to 0-2 deficit.

As the Kerry champions began to introduce subs with their place in the the final already assured, Castlemahon were able to find the rhythm that got them to this stage with Roche finding three late scores to the delight of the huge attendance.

But it was in vein with the result all but sealed mid way through the first half.

Scorers for Fossa: Emmet O’Shea (1-7), Paudie Clifford (0-4), David Clifford (0-4, 2 frees), Tadhg O’Shea (0-3), Matt Rennie (0-2), Cian O’Shea, Harry Kelly (both 0-2)

Scorers for Castlemahon: Alan Roche (0-4, 2 frees), Mike Fitzgibbon (0-1)

Social Sharing

Posted in

Brilliant Bruff defeat Thurles Sarsfields to claim Munster Junior B Championship title

The Tipperary outfit had a goal from an All-Ireland winner in the second half but Bruff replied excellently ...
Read More

Pa Ranahan | It’s a free swing in these early games, why not swing for the fences!

“Be careful what you wish for.” Those were the words of former manager Billy Lee in an interview ...
Read More

Preview | Limerick make long-awaited return to Division 2 of the NFL with trip to Derry

Limerick will end a fifteen year wait to play in the top two tiers of National League football ...
Read More

O’Neill and Coughlan among the scorers as UL ease past TUS and into Fitzgibbon quarters

Brian Ryan’s side are the defending champions and are seeking a third title since 2018. UL booked a ...
Read More

TEAM | Limerick start a pair of League debutants for Division 2 return against Derry

Limerick were beaten by Cork in the McGrath Cup final last Friday night ahead of their return to ...
Read More

UL paired with reigning champions University of Galway in Sigerson Cup quarter-final

The game is a repeat of last year's final where the Galway side were crowned champions for the ...
Read More

Limerick rivals UL and TUS Midwest do battle in Fitzgibbon Cup

The reigning champions can book their quarter-final berth with a win in Castletroy this evening. Limerick colleges UL ...
Read More

DCU leave it late against Mary I who face anxious wait in Fitzgibbon Cup

There was late drama in Limerick as Mary I’s chances of reaching the knockout stage were slashed. DCU ...
Read More