REPORT: Limerick fall to Tipperary in one sided Munster Minor Hurling Final

Report: Limerick lose Munster Minor Hurling Final to Tipperary

Limerick’s dream of winning the Munster Minor Hurling Final came to a disappointing end as they were beaten by Tipperary 1-20 to 1-12 at Semple Stadium in Thurles.

Antoin Power’s side never came close to reaching the levels previously seen in the Championship to date against a dominant Tipperary side.

Limerick started the game well with two points in the first four minutes from Bob Purcell and Cathal O’Neill.

Tipperary sound found their feet in front of goal to score the next three points, two of which came from Sean Hayes. The other a James Devaney free.

Hayes and Devaney were causing plenty of problems for the Limerick full back line but Limerick responded and O’Neill’s second free of the game levelled the contest for a second time on 12 minutes.

Tommy Dunne’s Tipperary then hit a purple patch with five on the bounce with Sean Phelan’s individual effort the highlight that put daylight between the teams.

Limerick rallied towards the end of the half with Cormac Ryan and Patrick Kirby efforts but the ever willing Devaney’s sixth of the first half saw Tipperary to a 0-12 to 0-7 lead at half time.

Power’s men also started the second half brightly but missed a few early chances and were punished to the fullest by a classy Tipperary side.

Devaney and Cian O’Farrell continued their fine form from the first half and once Mikey O’Shea buried Tipperary’s goal seven minutes from time, the game was effectively over.

Newcastle West’s Bryan Nix did manage a consolation goal in added time for Limerick but it came too late to mount a comeback.

Limerick must now face games against Kilkenny and Galway in a round robin series to get to an All-Ireland semi final with the first game taking place next weekend where the Tribesmen will be Limerick’s opposition.

Scorers – Limerick: Cathal O’Neill 0-6 (5fs), Bryan Nix 1-0, Cormac Ryan 0-3, Bob Purcell, Patrick Kirby and Barry O’Connor 0-1 each.

Scorers – Tipperary: James Devaney 0-8 (4fs, 1 ’65), Mikey O’Shea 1-1, Sean Hayes 0-3, Sean Phelan and Cian O’Farrell 0-2 each, Ryan Renehan (s/l), Kian O’Kelly, Conor Whelan and Max Hackett 0-1 each.

Limerick: Bryan Heavey; Padraig Harnett, Ben Herlihy, Michael Keane; Eoin O’Mahony, Emmet McEvoy, Jack Nicholas; Patrick Kirby, Barry O’Connor; Cathal O’Neill, Cormac Ryan, Bob Purcell; Colin Coughlan, Diarmuid Hegarty, Danny O’Leary.

Subs: Bryan Nix for O’Leary (26 mins), David Hickey for Hegarty (50 mins), Michael Martin for Coughlan (55 mins), Andrew Shanahan for Nicholas (62 mins), Cian Casey for Kirby (62 mins).

Tipperary: Aaron Browne; Conor O’Dwyer, Conor Whelan, Kevin Hayes; Johnny Ryan, Fintan Purcell, Sean Phelan; Max Hackett, John Campion; Kian O’Kelly, Ryan Renehan, Cian O’Farrell; Devon Ryan, Sean Hayes, James Devaney.

Subs: Mikey O’Shea for Renehan (46 mins), Jack Morrissey for Campion (50 mins), Kevin Maher for Hackett (57 mins), Billy O’Connor for Ryan (60 mins), Frank Hanafin for Phelan (63 mins).

Referee: Thomas Walsh (Waterford)

Social Sharing

Posted in

John Keogh

O’Brien added to Limerick senior hurlers coaching ticket

John Kiely has added Broadford, Co Clare native, Aonghus O'Brien, to his management team for the coming season. ...
Read More

LISTEN: John Kiely “delighted with the attitude” despite loss to Tipp

Limerick suffered a 4-14 to 2-17 loss Tipperary in the Coop Superstores Munster Senior League opener in the ...
Read More

Limerick lose Munster League opener

Limerick were beaten 4-14 to 2-17 by Tipperary in the Munster Senior League opener in the Gaelic Grounds ...
Read More

Kiely’s panel to gain valuable experience from Munster Senior Hurling League

For the first time in nearly 50 years, Limerick will enter the new year as All-Ireland hurling champions. ...
Read More

Five newcomers as John Kiely names first Limerick squad for 2019 season

All-Ireland Champions Limerick are back in competitive action for the first time since their national triumph in August ...
Read More

Limerick clubs to receive over €200,000 in Munster GAA Grants

The Munster GAA Council has today announced over €1 million that will be distributed to clubs all over ...
Read More

Munster Senior Hurling League Preview

The 2018 All-Ireland Champions, Limerick, will be in competitive action for the first time since their triumph in Croke ...
Read More

John the Baptist draw Thurles CBS in Harty 1/4 Final

John the Baptist will face Thurles C.B.S in the quarter finals of the 2019 Munster Post Primary Harty ...
Read More