RESULT | Fans’ Team to take on Cork in the National Hurling League

John Kiley will name his side to take on Cork on Friday evening.

After over 550 votes, the Limerick faithful have decided who they want to see named in the starting team to face Cork this Sunday in the third round of the National Hurling League.

The public have put their faith in the side that beat the Rebels int heir previous meeting, the All-Ireland final, with thirteen of that team chosen.

From that All-Ireland winning team, Gearoid Hegarty is suspended while Peter Casey is out injured.

Cathal O’Neill is the undisputed choice to replace Hegarty according to the voters picking up 81.5% of the vote, just a few shy of Cian Lynch and Tom Morrissey. The Limerick faithful are desperate to see the Patrickswell man back in action just a week removed from the Fitzgibbon Cup final as 9/10 opted for the Hurler of the Year, the fifth highest selection.

22 August 2021; Cian Lynch of Limerick during the GAA Hurling All-Ireland Senior Championship Final match between Cork and Limerick in Croke Park, Dublin. Photo by Brendan Moran/Sportsfile

Those who picked up more votes than Lynch were Sean Finn (95.6%), Aaron Gillane (92.1%), Kyle Hayes (91.5%) and Seamus Flanagan (90.8%).

Adam English (38%) is the other newcomer into the side with the Doon man fighting off competition from clubmate Pat Ryan, David Reidy and 2018 All-Star Graeme Mulcahy.

Reidy (33.8%) and Ryan (22.3%) have started both League games thus far while Mulcahy (29.9%) made his return to the side against Galway.

Richie English is the most unlucky to miss out on the team as he is left out despite picking up over half the vote (54.5%) English has started every game this year for Limerick and has hardly put a foot wrong in any of them.

John Kiely will announce his actual squad to take on Cork tonight, Friday at 9pm.

But until then, check out the fans team to face Cork.

Sporting Limerick Fans XV to Play Cork.

  1. Nickie Quaid (88.9%)
  2. Sean Finn (95.6%)
  3. Dan Morrissey (82.4%)
  4. Barry Nash (73.6%)
  5. Diarmaid Byrnes (69.7%)
  6. Declan Hannon (73.2%)
  7. Kyle Hayes (91.5%)
  8. William O’Donoghue (85.2%)
  9. Darragh O’Donovan (64.9%)
  10. Tom Morrissey (86.9%)
  11. Cian Lynch (89.5%)
  12. Cathal O’Neill (81.%)
  13. Aaron Gillane (92.1%)
  14. Seamus Flanagan (90.8%)
  15. Adam English (38%)

Social Sharing

Posted in

POLL | Who has been Limerick’s Player of the Munster Hurling Championship so far?

Ahead of next weekend's Munster final with Clare, we want to know who you think has been Limerick's ...
Read More

SOLD OUT | Munster Senior Hurling Championship Final sells out in minutes

Terrace tickets went on general sale on Thursday afternoon at 12pm as Munster GAA announced the game was ...
Read More

Senior Camogie Championship kicks off as Limerick head to Antrim

Antrim managed to finish third in the Division 1B table, while Limerick ended up second from bottom, but ...
Read More

History for Limerick’s Diarmaid Byrnes who eclipses 17-year scoring record

The Patrickswell man put up 1-4 from half back at the TUS Gaelic Grounds on Sunday, as he ...
Read More

Limerick Ladies Footballers discover All-Ireland Junior Championship Fixtures

Graham Shine's side will get their championship campaign underway away to Kilkenny on June 18 as they bid ...
Read More

Limerick and Clare to meet in eighth ever Munster Senior Hurling Championship Final with the Treaty dominant in past encounters

If historical Munster finals between the rivals are anything to go by, it's good news for Limerick as ...
Read More

“We don’t let any of that into our circle” | Morrissey and Byrnes on dealing with outside noise as Limerick get the Cork job done

While many may have crumbled under such pressure, Limerick stood up to the challenge they faced on Sunday ...
Read More

Limerick rise in Tailteann Cup Outright Odds ahead of final round clash

It is the first time the Shannonsiders have played in the All-Ireland competition, winning both of their games ...
Read More