Seven Munster players named in Irish Women’s squad for Welsh test

Ireland Women’s coach Adam Griggs has selected seven Munster players in his squad that plays Wales in their final Six Nations game on Sunday.

Eimear Considine, Enya Breen, Deirbhile Nic A Bhaird, Fiona Reidy and Ciara Griffin start the game.

Griffin will again captain the side and there is also a welcome return to the bench for Nicole Cronin after injury. Laura Sheehan is also named among the replacements.

“This is the last test match of the international season for our players and we are determined to finish on a high,” said Griggs when the squad was announced.

“Everyone is disappointed with the result against France. We want to make sure we take control of our performance this weekend and finish on a positive note moving forward.

Women’s Six Nations Championship Round 4, Energia Park, Donnybrook, Dublin 9/3/2019 Ireland Women vs France Women Ireland’s Ciara Griffin scores her side’s first try of the game Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Ryan Byrne

“While, we feel our results don’t reflect the team’s progress and performance over the past few weeks, we have been honest with ourselves and know we have to get better at playing at this level.

“The ladies have committed 100% to the last 6 months and have made a lot of positive strides forward, we now need to combine some of those exciting moments we’ve had with our continuous work on’s to get that complete performance.”

The match at Cardiff Arms Park on Sunday will be broadcast live on RTÉ2 and has a 1:30pm kick-off.

Ireland team to face Wales

15: Lauren Delany (Firwood Waterloo/ IQ Rugby)

14: Eimear Considine (UL Bohemians/ Munster)

13: Enya Breen (UL Bohemians/ Munster)

12: Sene Naoupu (Old Belvedere/ Leinster)

11: Beibhinn Parsons (Ballinasloe/Connacht)

10: Nicole Fowley (Galwegians/ Connacht)

9: Kathryn Dane (Old Belvedere/ Ulster)

1: Lindsay Peat (Railway Union/ Leinster)

2: Deirbhile Nic A Bhaird (UL Bohemian/ Munster)

3: Fiona Reidy (UL Bohemians/ Munster)

4: Aoife McDermott (Railway Union/Leinster)

5: Nichola Fryday (Galwegians/ Connacht)

6: Ciara Griffin (UL Bohemians/ Munster) Capt

7: Claire Molloy (Wasps)

8: Claire McLaughlin (Old Belvedere/ Ulster)


16: Emma Hooban (St Mary’s College/ Leinster)

17: Linda Djougang (Old Belvedere/ Leinster)

18: Laura Feely (Galwegians/ Connacht)

19: Edel McMahon (Galwegians/ Connacht)

20: Anna Caplice (Richmond)

21: Nicole Cronin (UL Bohemian/ Munster)

22: Ellen Murphy (Old Belvedere/ Leinster)

23: Laura Sheehan (UL Bohemian/ Munster)

Social Sharing

Posted in

Crucial weekend for local All Ireland League teams as end of season nears

There are only three games remaining in the league stage of the All Ireland League Division 1A and ...
Read More

WATCH: Johann van Graan on focusing on present and returning internationals

Munster welcome Zebre to Thomond Park on Saturday evening with the Six Nations now behind the Irish internationals. ...
Read More

WATCH: Munster’s Rhys Marshall discusses Zebre clash and improving fitness

With a largely forgettable Six Nations over us, attention now reverts back to the domestic scene with Munster ...
Read More

The Breakdown EP94: Six Nations Post Mortem & Throwing the Baby Out with the Bathwater

We look back on a poor campaign for Ireland and why we shouldn't throw the baby out with ...
Read More

WATCH: Hanrahan on Munster itching to get Scarlets loss out of their system

JJ Hanrahan says that Munster are fully focused on getting back to winning ways when they welcome Zebre ...
Read More

WATCH: Johann van Graan focusing on the positives from defeat to the Scarlets

Munster return to Pro14 action this Saturday evening when they welcome Italian side Zebre to Thomond Park. A ...
Read More

The Breakdown EP93: Six Nations Showdown Preview & U20s take Grand Slam

With the Six Nations coming to a climax this weekend, we look at Ireland's chances in Wales as ...
Read More

Seven Munster players named in Irish Women’s squad for Welsh test

Ireland Women's coach Adam Griggs has selected seven Munster players in his squad that plays Wales in their ...
Read More