SHC Round Up | Na Piarsaigh maintain winning streak while last minute drama halts Ballybrown

It was an eventful weekend of fixtures as the SHC made its return.

Na Piarsaigh remain the only unbeaten team in the 2022 Bon Secours Senior Hurling Championship as the third round of fixtures came to a dramatic end.

After Ballybrown were defeated by a last-gasp Kildimo-Pallaskenry goal, it left the Caherdavin me as the only side to win each match and they did so in emphatic fashion.

In their game in group one, the title favourites made relatively light work of Patrickswell winning by a margin of 14 points. Peter Casey hit the back of the net for Na Piarsaigh early on which set the tempo for the game as the 2020 winners secured their place in the knockout stages with three wins from three.

Reigning champions Kilmallock provided a scintillating display against Adare in Ballyagran as they won 3:26 to 0-17 on Thursday evening. The 2021 champions got out of the blocks with 1-7 after 10 mins with an early Killian Hayes goal providing a comfortable lead. Oisin O’Reilly found the back of the net twice as the side stayed second on four points.

The third game in group one saw Doon provide a goal-fest against Ahane, with an impressive 5-14 to 0-13 victory to go third in the group. There were four different goal-scorers for Doon as Pat Ryan got them off the mark early on as they kept pace with Kilmallock.

It was the late-late show in group two’s fixture between Kildimo Pallaskenry and Ballybrown with the former edging out the result with a goal deep into injury time. Goalkeeper John Chawke fired a free into the back of the net when his side were two down, leaving KP with the two wins from three while a stunned Ballybrown got their first taste of defeat this year.

Meanwhile, South Liberties were also one point winners as they fought hard for a 0-23 to 0-22 victory over bottom side Blackrock. The game was neck and neck from start to finish, with a four point lead being South Liberties highest throughout as they moved onto four points. Blackrock are yet to find any result other than defeat this season and will need two wins from their last two if they stand any chance.

In the final game, Garryspillane were victors over Mungret St. Pauls and went second in the table with a 2-18 to 1-17 victory. Mungret were two points to the good with less than ten mins left on the clock but Garryspillane managed six points with no reply to clinch the victory. The side now sit in fifth place with only win on the board.

The fourth round of fixtures will take place on the weekend Thursday (September 8th ) to Sunday (September 11th).

Senior Hurling Championship Round III Results

Group One

Adare 0-17 : 3-26 Kilmallock

Doon 5-14 : 0-13 Ahane

Patrickswell 0-12 : 1-23 Na Piarsaigh

Group Two

Blackrock 0-22 : 0-23 South Liberties

Kildimo-Pallaskenry 1-17 : 1-16 Ballybrown

Garryspillane 2-18 : 1-17 Mungret St. Pauls

Social Sharing

Posted in

Ambrose, Lee and Murphy in Division 4 Team of the Year

The Limerick trio join six Carlow representatives in the side, alongside a Leitrim trio and a Fermanagh pair. ...
Read More

Limerick v Clare | Last Five Championship Clashes 2020-’23

With pride at stake when the old rivals meet on April 21, we look back at their five ...
Read More

ODDS | Limerick favourites to retain Munster hurling crown

The Treaty are the favourites for the 2024 title, the bookies fancying their chances of making it six ...
Read More

Shane Dowling’s Limerick Minors to face Cork | TEAM NEWS

Liam O'Connor partners joint-captain Cosgrave in midfield, with Eoghan Maher named just ahead at centre-forward. Limerick Minor hurling ...
Read More

Limerick make changes to U20 hurling side for Tipperary meeting | TEAM NEWS

Joe Fitzgerald moves to midfield to partner Con Hayes, with Fintan Fitzgerald named just ahead at centre-forward. Limerick ...
Read More

Limerick name U20 football team for Munster ‘B’ final | TEAM NEWS

Jack Somers starts at centre-back, with Whelan and Michael Kilbridge either side of him. Darragh Murray partners Josh ...
Read More

Limerick footballers bow out of Munster SFC following 11-point loss to Cork

Jimmy Lee's senior footballers exited the Munster SFC at the quarter-final stage this afternoon following a 3-13 to ...
Read More

Limerick ladies footballers fall to defeat against Carlow in league decider

Limerick were beaten by Carlow in the Lidl LGFA Division 4 League Final after Maeve O'Neill's late goal ...
Read More