Shelbourne Edge out Limerick FC in Tight Encounter

Shelbourne FC grabbed a crucial 0-1 win over Limerick FC in the promotion race at the Markets Field on Friday night as a solitary first half strike from Ciaran Kilduff was enough to extend their lead at the top of the first division.

Ryan Brennan had the first shot of the game but his strike from distance sailed harmlessly over the crossbar. Limerick’s Karl O’Sullivan made a positive impact when his low cross was collected by Kieran Hanlon whose shot was deflected out for a corner.

Moments later, Hanlon was fouled on the edge of the box and the resulting Shane Tracy effort travelled just wide of Colin McCabe’s post. Following good build up play between Lorcan Fitzgerald and Daniel McKenna, the latter set up Ryan Brennan but the midfielder’s shot rose over the crossbar.

The Shannonsiders were awarded a penalty by referee David Dunne when Oscar Brennan was adjudged to have fouled Hanlon but Darren Murphy’s penalty cleared the crossbar. Lee Devitt was played through and forced a a save from McCabe.

Disaster struck for Limerick with ten minutes remaining in the first half when he attempted to shield the ball out over the end line but was dispossessed by Ciaran Kilduff who placed a shot into the net from a tight angle.

In the opening quarter there were very few chances but Brennan saw his free-kick travel wide. Limerick’s best attacking option was Karl O’Sullivan who was putting in one of his best performances of this season but the Super Blues struggled to create against a solid and vocal defensive unit.

Experienced winger Conan Byrne turned inside the otherwise impressive Aaron Fitzgerald before unleashing a shot from distance which failed to trouble Brady.

Limerick struggled to create chances for an equaliser despite bringing on an extra centre forward in Adam Foley. A shot from distance from Kieran Hanlon was the best Tommy Barrett’s men could offer and despite a valiant display, the Shannonsiders drop to sixth in the league table ahead of next week’s home clash with Longford.

Limerick FC: Jack Brady, Lee Devitt (Adam Foley 77), Robbie Williams, Killian Brouder, Aaron Fitzgerald, Shane Tracy (Clyde O’Connell 82), Darren Murphy, Jason Hughes, Karl O’Sullivan, Sean McSweeney, Kieran Hanlon

Subs not used: Tommy Holland, Edmond O’Dwyer, Andy Quaid

Shelbourne: Colin McCabe, Aidan Friel, Luke Byrne, Dan McKenna, Lorcan Fitzgerald, Oscar Brennan, Daragh Noone (Shane Farrell 84), Karl Moore, Ryan Brennan, Conan Byrne (James English 66), Ciaran Kilduff

Subs not used: Dean Delaney, Flavio Marku, Greg Moorhouse, Dayle Rooney

Social Sharing

Posted in

Limerick District League Premier Division round-up

Fairview Rangers and Regional United maintained their 100% records at the start of the Limerick District League Premier ...
Read More

WATCH: Barrett “We need to do more to attract crowds”

Limerick FC manager Tommy Barrett cut a frustrated figure after his side's 1-1 draw with Athlone Town on ...
Read More

Back to league duty for Super Blues after cup victory

Limerick FC welcome Athlone Town to the Markets Field tonight in what will be the club’s second last ...
Read More

Fairview and Regional earn victories in Limerick Premier Division

Fairview Rangers picked up a comprehensive victory over newly promoted Mungret Regional on Thursday evening in the Limerick ...
Read More

LISTEN: Williams “not worried about scoreline, just getting 3 points”

New Pike Rovers manager Robbie Williams was very happy with his side's performance in the 6-1 thrashing of ...
Read More

Pike earn Massive Victory as Premier Season Continues

Pike Rovers picked up a massive victory over last season's champions Janesboro as the Hoops ran out 6-1 ...
Read More

WATCH: O’Donoghue confident of Regional re-building project

Regional United manager Shane O'Donoghue believes that the current squad can bounce back from losing some high profile ...
Read More

WATCH: Spillane Ready to lead Coonagh into First top Flight Season

Coonagh United enter their first season as a Limerick District League Premier Division club in 2019/2020 following last ...
Read More