TEAM | Irish internationals return as Munster name team for Connacht

Match tickets are available to buy online here or from the stadium on match day. A family pack of four tickets costs just €40 with Stand tickets from €15 for juniors and €30 for adults.

The Munster team has been named for Saturday night’s United Rugby Championship Interpro derby against Connacht at Thomond Park (7.35pm).

Tadhg Beirne, who was named in World Rugby Men’s 15s Team of the Year earlier this week, starts on his 50th Munster appearance with Peter O’Mahony captaining the side as Joey Carbery, Craig Casey and Calvin Nash also come back into the team after returning from Ireland camp.

25 June 2022; Craig Casey speaks to the media after Ireland rugby squad training at North Harbour Stadium in Auckland, New Zealand. Photo by Brendan Moran/Sportsfile

Jean Kleyn returns from injury and Alex Kendellen starts at no.8 as Head Coach Graham Rowntree makes seven changes to the side that beat the South Africa Select XV at Páirc Uí Chaoimh.

Mike Haley starts at full-back with Nash and Shane Daly on either flank.

Rory Scannell and Antoine Frisch, who makes his first BKT URC start, continue their centre partnership with Casey and Carbery in the half-backs.

Josh Wycherley, Diarmuid Barron and Roman Salanoa keep their places in the front row with Kleyn and Beirne in the engine room.

O’Mahony, John Hodnett and Kendellen start in the back row.

Jeremy Loughman and Jack Crowley return from international camp and are included among the replacements with John Ryan back from representing the Barbarians.

Greencore Munster Rugby Academy lock Edwin Edogbo is also included among the replacements and is set for his seventh appearance of the season.

Find out all you need to know ahead of the game here.

Munster: Mike Haley; Calvin Nash, Antoine Frisch, Rory Scannell, Shane Daly; Joey Carbery, Craig Casey; Josh Wycherley, Diarmuid Barron, Roman Salanoa; Jean Kleyn, Tadhg Beirne; Peter O’Mahony (C), John Hodnett, Alex Kendellen.

Replacements: Niall Scannell, Jeremy Loughman, John Ryan, Edwin Edogbo, Jack O’Donoghue, Paddy Patterson, Jack Crowley, Gavin Coombes.

Social Sharing

Posted in

Peter O’Mahony set for 90th cap with Tadhg Beirne also named in Irish XV for Six Nations opener

Peter O'Mahony will win his 90th Irish cap when he takes to the field in the Principality Stadium ...
Read More

Quinn and Gleeson named to start for Ireland in U20 Six Nations opener

Quinn made history against Zebre earlier this season as he became Munster's youngest ever in the professional era. ...
Read More

Munster star among 15-player longlist for EPCR Player of the Year award

The winner of the award, which is now in its 13th year, will receive the Anthony Foley Memorial ...
Read More

Contract extensions for Scannell brothers, Edogbo to sign senior contract while Ryan return confirmed

Munster are in the midst of a three-game winning streak in the URC since the turn of the ...
Read More

Young Munster into the top four while Garryowen pick up first win of the season | AIL Round Up

There were a pair of vital wins for Limerick sides at either end of the Division 1A AIL ...
Read More

HIGHLIGHTS | Munster earn bonus point win in Benetton epic

Graham Rowntree's side picked up a third successive URC win since the turn of the year to move ...
Read More

Graham Rowntree makes eight changes for Treviso trip as Carbery reaches 50 Munster appearances

The Irish province are seeking a third successive win in the domestic championship after securing their knockout place ...
Read More

“A lot of pleasing things but a lot to work on aswell” | Andi Kyriacou and Roman Salanoa still seeking improvements at Munster

The men in red have a Champions Cup knockout clash to look forward to in April after pushing ...
Read More