TEAM | Mark Fitzgerald names first Limerick football team ahead of Kildare

Limerick need to pick up points this Sunday or their time in the second tier of the league will come to an end.

New Limerick Senior Football manager Mark Fitzgerald has named his first team ahead of their Division 2 League clash with Kildare this Sunday afternoon in the TUS Gaelic Grounds.

There are two changes to the team that earned a draw with Meath in Ray Dempsey’s final game in charge, with joint captain Iain Corbett missing out. Into the starting side come Paul Maher and Adrian Enright. Killian Ryan drops to the bench.

Fiachra Cotter (Fr Caseys) and Cormac Woulfe (St Senans) are in line for league debuts from the bench.

Throw-in this Sunday at 3.45pm with Limerick needing a win to avoid relegation. If they were to lose then they would be guaranteed to play Division 3 football next year while a draw could be enough if results in the final round go their way.

Limerick team to face Kidare

  1. Donal O’Sullivan Monaleen
  2. Michael Donovan Galbally
  3. Seán O’Dea Kilteely/Dromkeen
  4. Brian Fanning Pallasgreen
  5. Barry Coleman Rathkeale
  6. Colm McSweeney Gerald Griffins
  7. Tony McCarthy Kildimo/Pallaskenry
  8. Cathal Downes Kildimo/Pallaskenry
  9. Cillian Fahy Dromcollogher/Broadford
  1. Paul Maher Adare
  2. James Naughton St.Senans
  3. Cian Sheehan Newcastlewest
  4. Adrian Enright Fr.Caseys
  5. Brian Donovan Monaleen
  6. Hugh Bourke Adare
  7. Aaron O’Sullivan Pallasgreen
  8. Robbie Bourke Adare
  9. Gordon Brown Na Piarsaigh
  10. David Connolly Adare
  11. Fiachra Cotter Fr.Caseys
  12. Tommy Griffin Gerald Griffins
  13. Jim Liston Gerald Griffins
  14. Davy Lyons Adare
  15. Peter Nash Kildimo/Pallaskenry
  16. Killian Ryan Mungret/St.Pauls
  17. Cormac Woulfe St.Senans

GAA coverage on Sporting Limerick is brought to you in association with Noels Menswear, shop online here or visit in Dooradoyle, Limerick City or Newcastle West.

Social Sharing

Posted in

Limerick start minor campaign with narrow Waterford win in woeful conditions

Waterford 0-7Limerick 1-7By Tom Clancy in Fraher Field Limerick opened their Electric Ireland Munster Minor Hurling Championship with ...
Read More

“We had plenty of chances” | Mark Fitzgerald laments missed opportunities as Limerick are relegated

It was a first game in charge for Fitzgerald, with Ray Dempsey stepping down from the role just ...
Read More

Five Unsung Limerick U20s to Watch in Munster Hurling Championship

Who will be the next set of U20 players to lay down their markers as future Limerick hurling ...
Read More

Iris Kennelly selected on Ladies HEC Rising Star team for second season running

THE Yoplait HEC All-Stars and Rising Stars have been announced following the conclusion of the 2023 Championships. Limerick's ...
Read More

Diarmuid Mullins includes seven from last year’s final for Limerick’s Munster U20 Championship opener in Waterford

The squad contains eleven of the players that started in Limerick's Munster Minor Championship final win over Tipperary ...
Read More

TUS Gaelic Grounds to host Limerick’s NHL semi-final with Tipperary

Limerick secured their place in the knockout stages on Sunday with a straightforward win over Wexford with Kyle ...
Read More

PREVIEW | Limerick begin Munster Minor Hurling Championship with trip to Waterford

Limerick were last champions at the grade in 2020 with Adam English captaining the side to a second ...
Read More

Limerick duo named on the Hurling Team of the Week following Wexford win

Limerick are one of four counties with two players on the squad with Dublin, Kilkenny and Tipperary also ...
Read More