Limerick Minor Footballers claim the Munster Phase One title with thrilling Tipp Triumph

Limerick 1-9
Tipperary 1-6

By Tom Clancy in Mallow

Limerick won their first Daryl Darcy Cup title thanks to a late goal from Darragh Hogan to snatch victory over Tipperary in Mallow. In a trilling clash, Limerick shaded the contest overall, which was as a result of the group phase involving these two counties, as well as Clare and Waterford. 

Limerick played against the breeze in the opening half, and conceded the first two scores to a Tadhg Whyte free and a curling effort from Liam Freaney.

The Premier had won the group clash in Rathkeale but Limerick recovered to defeat Clare and Waterford. 

Despite this, the Treaty kicked the next six scorers, with six players on target. Cathal Woulfe, Padraic Murphy and Cian Costello helped Limerick level and ahead before Andrew Lyons (free) Callum Buckley and Adam Murphy all got in on the scoring act.

This was by the 16th minute and despite not registering another score for the remainder of the half, John Ryan’s men led 0-6 to 0-4 at half-time. Jamie O’Keefe cutting the deficit for Tipperary right at the end of the half.

Tadhg Whyte drew a fine save from Sam Guerin on 33 minutes. But the Kildimo Pallaskenry was beaten by a thunderous shot three minutes later, when sub Charlie Grace cut in from the wing and blasted to the net.

But despite trailing for most of the half, Limerick came up with the killer blow, a Darragh Hogan goal on 58 minutes, after Evan Curry saw his shot saved by Peter Boland. 

There was an extra point to seal it, from sub Ronan O’Connell, which pushed Limerick three clear. They face Kerry in the Munster semi-final next week, as the Kingdom lost to Cork (2-18 to 0-14), Tipperary face the Rebels. 

Scorers for Limerick: Darragh Hogan 1-0; Callum Buckley 0-2; Cathal Woulfe, Padraic Murphy, Cian Costello, Andrew Lyons (free), Adam Murphy, Evan Curry (free), Ronan O’Connell 0-1 each.

Scorers for Tipperary: Charlie Grace 1-1; Tadgh Whyte (free) 0-1, Liam Freaney 0-2, Jamie O’Keefe, Charlie Walsh 0-1 each.

Limerick: Sam Guerin; Cian O’Sullivan, Callum Buckley, Cian Costello; Liam Óg Glynn, Cathal Woulfe, Cillian Meade; Darragh Hogan, Evan Curry; Andrew Lyons, Padraic Phelan, Padraic Murphy.

Subs: Eoghan Beston for Lyons (41), Ronan O’Connell for A. Murphy (63), Rory Mullins for Hogan (63). 

Tipperary: Peter Boland; Ronan Myles, Cillian Ryan, Shane Flanagan; Jamie O’Keefe, Billy Tierney ©, Michael Connellan; Michael O’Reilly, Sean Lewis; Louis Coughlan, Liam Freaney, Cillian Fahey; Joey Quinn, Tadhg Whyte, Mark Neville.

Subs: Shane Ryan for Fahey (ht), Charlie Grace for Neville (ht), Charlie Walsh for Whyte (48), Tom Ryan for Freaney (56)

Referee: James O’Regan (Cork)

GAA coverage on Sporting Limerick is brought to you in association with Noels Menswear, shop online here or visit in Dooradoyle, Limerick City or Newcastle West.

Social Sharing

Posted in

Champions Limerick bow out to red hot Rebels

Limerick 0-29Cork 1-28By Tom Clancy at Croke ParkLimerick's most remarkable run ended after a narrow, two-point loss, after ...
Read More

TEAM: Limerick make two changes to side to face Cork

John Kiely and his backroom team have made two changes from the starting XV that faced Clare in ...
Read More

Kingston Promises Intensity from “The Minute the Ball is in Play Right to the Very End”

For Shane Kingston and his Cork teammates, the journey to this point had been anything but straightforward, marked ...
Read More

Hannon on Success & Setbacks as Limerick Look Forward to Rebel Rematch

Limerick will do battle with a familiar foe in Cork this weekend as all roads lead to Croke ...
Read More

Hegarty: ‘There is a lot more to life outside of hurling”

In association with Bord Gais Energy. With six Munster and five All Ireland medals to his name, Gearóid ...
Read More

Sligo a bridge too far for Limerick as Tailteann dream ends

Sligo 2-20Limerick 0-9By Tom Clancy in Markievicz ParkLimerick’s hopes of a trip to Croke Park were wiped away ...
Read More

WATCH | Kiely, Gillane & O’Neill react after historic Munster SHC victory

Limerick made more history when claiming a record breaking sixth Munster Senior Hurling title in a row, thanks ...
Read More

Six of the best – Limerick claim record breaking Munster title

Limerick 1-26Clare 1-20By Tom Clancy in ThurlesLimerick made more history when claiming a record breaking sixth Munster Senior ...
Read More