Treaty United earn dramatic point against Shelbourne

Treaty United earned a dramatic share of the spoils against Shelbourne on Friday night thanks to a superb strike from distance by former St. Michaels man Willie Armshaw in the third minute of injury time. Armshaw’s effort cancelled out Michael O’Connor’s opener midway through the second half to earn the draw.

Treaty United made a couple of changes to the side with captain Jack Lynch returning in place of the suspended Clyde O’Connell and last week’s goal scoring hero Joe Collins replacing Matt McKevitt as Barrett opted to return to a 4-3-3 formation which changed to a 4-1-4-1 in defensive mode.

Willie Armshaw celebrates the equalising strike. Credit Skyview Photography

The first-half was a slow burner with both sides creating little of note outside of a couple of scrambles from corners. The first big chance of the game arrived seven minutes from half-time when Treaty were caught from a corner of their own and a quick break from the visitors saw Callum McNamara isolated in a 2 on 1 situation against Michael O’Connor and JJ Lunney but the latter was denied by the quick actions of Tadgh Ryan.

Jack Lynch mustered the home side’s first effort on goal but his long range shot was easily gathered by Brendan Clarke. Just before half-time, Dayle Rooney’s flick from a JJ Lunney corner hit the post and both teams entered the dressing rooms on level terms.

The second half was a more entertaining affair and the instrumental Ryan Brennan, who scored the equaliser when these sides met in Tolka Park in April, flashed a curling effort wide of goal as Shels looked for their 10th victory on the spin.

In the 55th minute, Tommy Barrett’s side missed a great opportunity to take the lead as Anthony O’Donnell beat the offside trap from the second phase of a corner kick and Marc Ludden’s floated cross was met by the central-defender but he was stretching and appeared to lose the flight of the ball and his header sailed harmlessly wide.

Substitute Matt McKevitt was in the determined mood as he replaced Kieran Hanlon as he drove straight at Gilchrist and Byrne but his shot was easily saved by Clarke.

Action from the SSE Airtricity clash between Treaty United and Shelbourne

With 20 minutes remaining, Shelbourne took the lead as a rare mistake and lapse in judgement in the air from Sean Guerins, allowed Michael O’Connor to control and expertly finish into the bottom corner much to the delight of their players and bench.

Ian Morris side were almost gifted the certainty of the three points when Ryan’s poor arrowed clearance hit Dayle Rooney but the Cappamore native somehow managed to keep the winger’s effort out to ensure Treaty were still in with a chance.

Barrett decided to make a number of attacking changes as he introduced William Armshaw and the returning Sean McSweeney while changing the formation to 3-5-2 in search of an equaliser with the introduction of Mark Walsh to the fray.

The substitutions paid off in the most dramatic fashion as Treaty had managed to create a couple of late chances from corners with goalkeeper Ryan also summoned to the penalty area in attack.

It looked as though the points were heading back to Dublin when Shelbourne cleared Marc Ludden’s last-minute corner but William Armshaw gathered possession at the edge of the box before rifling the ball into the top corner through a number of bodies and past the helpless Clarke. The goal sent the vocal 200 supporters in attendance into raptures and earned a superb draw for the side.

Tommy Barrett happy after the final whistleC

After the game, Tommy Barrett announced that both Edmond O’Dwyer and Shane Cusack have departed the club to return to St. Michaels and Newmarket respectively while former Cobh and Fairview winger Brian Murphy has signed for the club.

Treaty United: Tadgh Ryan, Charlie Fleming, Sean Guerins, Anto O’Donnell, Marc Ludden, Callum McNamara (Mark Walsh 87), Jack Lynch, Joe Collins, Ed McCarthy (Sean McSweeney 72), Matt Keane (Willie Amrshaw 72), Kieran Hanlon (Matt McKevitt 58)

Shelbourne: Brendan Clarke, John Ross Wilson, Ally Gilchrist, Luke Byrne, Kevin O’Connor, JJ Lunney, George Poynton, Ryan Brennan (Brian McManus 83), Dayle Rooney, Shane Farrell, Michael O’Connor

Social Sharing

Posted in

Munster Junior Cup 4th Round Draw complete

There are some interesting draws involving Limerick District League sides in the 4th round of the Munster Junior ...
Read More

Treaty United’s Marc Ludden named on PFAI Division One Team of the Year

The defender is the only Treaty United representative on the team. Marc Ludden has been named on the ...
Read More

WATCH: Limerick native helps St Patrick’s Athletic to FAI Cup final victory in dramatic penalty shoot-out

St Patricks Athletic striker and Limerick native Ronan Coughlan celebrated winning the FAI Cup yesterday as his side ...
Read More

Three Limerick District League Sides Advance in FAI Junior Cup

Saturday afternoon produced a goal fest involving Limerick sides in the FAI Junior Cup with three of the ...
Read More

Excitement Builds for FAI Junior Cup Ties

The excitement is building this weekend for the beginning of the ‘out of town stages of the FAI ...
Read More

Limerick District League Premier Division Round-up

Pike Rovers continued their 100% record in the Limerick District League Premier Division on Sunday with a 4-1 ...
Read More

Aisling Annacotty Advance to Tuohy Cup Semi-Finals

Aisling Annacotty advanced to the semi-final stage of the Tuohy Cup with a narrow 0-1 victory over a ...
Read More

Limerick District League Preview

There are fixtures in three junior competitions this weekend as we near the halfway point of the season ...
Read More