Van Der Flier marks fantastic season with Player of the year award

The Rugby Players Ireland Awards were held last night at the Clayton Hotel on Burlington Road

Many of Ireland rugby’s top names were in attendance at the Clayton hotel last night for the Rugby Players Ireland Awards.

Ireland’s back row Josh Van Der Flier and women’s lock Sam Monaghan were voted by their piers as ‘Players of the year’. 

Van Der Flier has been persistent in his efforts to have his name on the starting ‘7’ jersey for his country, one of the most contested positions on the team. 

His award came in the category with some serious talent winning over Caelan Dorris, Mack Hansen and Hugo Keenan.

The Wicklow man has been electric for both country and province this year helping Leinster to the Champions Cup final and being nominated for Six Nations Player of the Championship this season. 

REPRO FREE***PRESS RELEASE NO REPRODUCTION FEE*** Rebrand launch of Rugby Players Ireland, Dublin 12/4/2017 Josh van der Flier pictured at the rebrand launch of Rugby Players Ireland, where they announced their commitment committed to making Ireland the best place in the world to play the game Ð on and off the pitch Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/Dan Sheridan

The women’s player of the year winner Sam Monaghan, has been an outstanding player for her team producing several prominent performances throughout the season.

The Wasps forward prevailed over talents such as Linda Djougang and Eve Higgins.

Connacht star Hansen, accepted the award for Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort Moment of the Year Award on behalf of his team mates in commemoration of their Triple Crown Success.

Leinster back row Caelan Dorris recieved the MSL Mercedes-Benz Dealerships’ Men’s 15s Try of the Year for his try against New Zealand.

The Irish Sevens player of the year award was recieved by Terry Kennedy for the second succesive season.

Dubliner Andrew Porter’s work in the community was recognised in his winning of the Zurich Contribution to Irish Society award.

13 November 2021; Andrew Porter, left, and Tadhg Furlong of Ireland during the Autumn Nations Series match between Ireland and New Zealand at Aviva Stadium in Dublin. Photo by Ramsey Cardy/Sportsfile

Recent Connacht break through, Cian Prendergast was presented with the Nevin Spence Men’s Young Player of the Year award marking the tenth anniversary of Nevin’s passing.

Social Sharing

Posted in

WATCH: Craig Casey “Coming Down To NZ is an entirely different challenge than paying them in the Aviva”

"To be down in the pinnacle of international rugby and test yourself and bond as a group is ...
Read More

WATCH: Andy Farrell “We’ll Be Well Up For The Challenge, There’s No Doubt”

Irish Rugby coach Andy Farrell has given his first press conference on New Zealand soil ahed of their ...
Read More

Munster Announce Six New Greencore Academy Players

Munster Rugby can confirm that six players will join the Greencore Munster Rugby Academy this summer.The new Academy ...
Read More

Preparations Continue As Ireland Head South For Kiwi Clashes

Ireland's Summer tour of New Zealand kicks off with a game against the Maori All-Blacks on the 29th ...
Read More

Sporting Limerick’s Best and Worst from the 2021/2022 rugby season

THE URC Final brought down the club rugby season and to say it was a mixed bag for ...
Read More

Highlights as Stormers Edge Bulls In Opening URC Final

Watch the highlights from DHL Stormers 18-13 Vodacom Bulls in the first final of the newly formed URC ...
Read More

O’Donoghue Claims Player of the Year Accolade | 2022 Munster Rugby Awards

The winners of the 2022 Munster Rugby Awards have today been confirmed with Keanes Jewellers trophies presented to ...
Read More

Eight Munster Players included but O’Donoghue misses out on Irish Squad for Summer Tour

Munster's Jack O'Donohue is a notable absentee after a stellar season. Ireland head coach Andy Farrell has named an extended ...
Read More