WATCH: Billy Lee reaction after Limerick’s Allianz Football League defeat to Derry

Billy Lee’s Limerick fell to their third defeat on the trot as Derry came away with a 0-13 to 1-5 victory at the Gaelic Grounds.

Limerick had led by two at half time thanks to Colm McSweeney’s goal but could only manage one point to Derry’s eight after the break.

Seamus O’Carroll got the scoring underway after three minutes and McSweeney’s goal from long range increased Limerick’s lead to four points.

The Limerick side that lined out against Derry

Derry eventually settled with scores from Ciaran McFaul and two Christopher Bradley efforts.

Limerick responded with a Jamie Lee free but that was cancelled out by a another Bradley score.

Cillian Fahy and Peter Nash restored Limerick’s lead to three but Bradley cut the deficit to 1-4 to 0-5 at half time.

Derry had the advantage of a gale in the second half and two further Bradley points and one from sub Ryan Bell saw them into the lead for the first time.

Limerick were then reduced to 14 after Pádraig De Brún was shown a red card just nine minutes after coming on at half time.

That made Derry’s cause even easier and they strolled to a five point victory that kept up their 100% record.

Scorers: Colm McSweeney 1-0, Jamie Lee 0-2 (1f), Seamus O’Carroll, Cillian Fahy and Peter Nash 0-1.

Limerick: Donal O’Sullivan; Sean O’Dea, Gareth Noonan, Paul Maher; Colm McSweeney, Iain Corbett, Gordon Browne; Darragh Treacy, Tommie Childs; Peter Nash, Jamie Lee, Adrian Enright; Cillian Fahy, Seamus O’Carroll, Patrick Begley.

Subs Used: Pádraig De Brún, Jim Liston, Brian Donovan, Michael Fitzgibbon, Ronan Lynch.

Social Sharing

Posted in

WATCH: Donal O’Sullivan on learning from Cork loss ahead of Westmeath

Limerick travel to Cusack Park this Saturday to take on Westmeath in the All-Ireland Football Qualifiers. Limerick defeated ...
Read More

“Improvement” the key for Kiely as Limerick prepare for Tipp rematch in Final

Last Sunday Limerick succumbed to their second defeat of this year’s Munster Hurling Championship when they were beaten ...
Read More

Mullins looking forward to ‘great challenge’ Clare in Munster decider

While the Limerick senior hurlers limped into the Munster final on points differential after their four-point loss to ...
Read More

Referee for Munster Hurling Final confirmed

Carlow native Paud O'Dwyer will take charge of Limerick's Munster Hurling final clash with Tipperary in the Gaelic ...
Read More

Limerick U20s announce team for Clare clash

Limerick take on Clare in Ennis this evening in their third game of the Liam Connor Cup. Defeat ...
Read More

Leggy Limerick & Stars of the Future- Talking points after Tipperary defeat

Limerick were defeated 1-22 to 0-21 by Tipperary in their final group game of the Munster championship yesterday. ...
Read More

Munster Final: Time and Ticket information

The LIT Gaelic Grounds will host its first Munster Hurling Final since 2016 in two weeks time when ...
Read More

Limerick downed by Tipperary but still reach Munster Final

Limerick fell to a 1-22 to 0-21 defeat to Tipperary in Thurles but still managed to reach the ...
Read More