WATCH: Classy UL side dispatch Carlow IT to reach Fitzgibbon final

Gary Kirby’s University of Limerick are through to the Electric Ireland Fitzgibbon Cup Final – against DCU in Mallow on Saturday week – courtesy of a superb 4-16 to 0-19 semi-final win over IT Carlow at WIT Sportsground on Tuesday night.

Tipperary stars Jason Forde and John McGrath hit a combined 3-09 over the 60 minutes with DJ Carey’s Carlow IT side simply having no answer to UL’s skill and scoring prowess.

The opening twenty minutes saw the sides level on seven occasions until John McGrath cut through the Carlow defence in the 27th minute and laid the ball off to his county team mate Jason Forde who finished to the back of the net.

Gary Kirby then brought on Na Piarsaigh star Ronan Lynch for Clare senior David Fitzgerald who picked up a knock and left the field. It meant UL would carry a 1-12 to 0-10 lead into the break.

Carlow responded after the break and reduced the deficit to just two points by minute 44 courtesy of a series of points form Martin Kavanagh (2), Richie Leahy and Mark Russell but once again UL’s goal threat would prove crucial.

Two quick fire goals in as many minutes from John McGrath and sub Pat Ryan killed any remaining Carlow hopes of a comeback and with a healthy 3-14 to 0-15 lead, the game was effectively over as a contest.

Carlow could see their Fitzgibbon hopes slipping through their fingers and desperately went in search of gaols but UL kept the door shut firm and ensured that there would be no late drama.

Jason Forde dispatched a penalty with time running out to further highlight UL’s dominance and Gary Kirby’s star studded side can now look forward to a final date with DCU on Saturday February 24 in Mallow GAA Complex.

See Pat Ryan score UL’s third goal their semi final encounter. Video credit HE GAA.

Please accept YouTube cookies to play this video. By accepting you will be accessing content from YouTube, a service provided by an external third party.

YouTube privacy policy

If you accept this notice, your choice will be saved and the page will refresh.

It was a UL starting XV that included six Limerick players, namely David McCarthy (Glenroe) in goals; defenders Sean Finn (Bruff) and the very busy Gearoid Hegarty (St. Patrick’s); attackers Kevin O’Brien (Patrickswell), Barry Murphy (Doon) and Ahane’s Tom Morrissey. Ronan Lynch of Na Piarsaigh and Pat Ryan (Doon), who fired home a lovely goal, were introduced as substitutes.

UL: David McCarthy, Aidan McGuane, Conor Cleary, Sean Finn, Barry Heffernan, David Fitzgerald, Gearoid Hegarty, Tony Kelly (0-02), Paul Maher, Ian Galvin (0-2), Kevin O’Brien (0-01), Tom Morrissey (0-01), John McGrath (1-04), Jason Forde (2-05, 1-00p, 0-02f, 0-01’65), Barry Murphy (0-01).

Subs: Ronan Lynch for David Fitzgerald (24m), Pat Ryan (1-0) for Barry Murphy (38m), Michael Mullins for Paul Maher (53m), Stephen Roche for Kevin O’Brien (60m).

IT Carlow: Enda Rowland, Shane Reck, Kevin Hannafin, Ross Brown, Michael Redmond, James Doyle, Micheal Harney, Colin Dunford (0-02), Richard Leahy (0-02), Sean Downey, Martin Kavanagh (0-08, 0-5f), Charles Dwyer, Jack Fagan (0-01) , Mark Russell (0-03), Cathal Dunbar (0-03).

Subs: Seamus Casey for Sean Downey (49m).

Referee: Cathal McAllister (Cork).

Social Sharing

Posted in

John Kiely’s management team confirmed for 2024

Joe O'Connor returns to the fold as High Performance Manager, joined by John Flavin who comes into the ...
Read More

Donal O’Sullivan announces intercounty retirement

The news that the Monaleen man is retiring from intercounty football will be greeted with great disappointment. Limerick ...
Read More

Lacklustre Na Piarsaigh bow out to Ballygunner

Na Piarsaigh slumped to a four point loss in their Munster Senior Club Hurling Championship semi-final, against Ballygunner ...
Read More

Aaron Gillane wins 2023 Hurler of the Year

Patrickswell sharpshooter Aaron Gillane crowned a superb 2023 for both himself and Limerick by claiming the 2023 All ...
Read More

Limerick rewarded with magnificent seven All-Star spots following remarkable four-in-a-row

The Treaty County lead the way with Kilkenny capturing five places, Clare having two and Galway's Conor Whelan ...
Read More

Newcastle West exit Munster championship after Clonmel Commercials loss

Jimmy Lee's men bowed out of the provincial championship after a seven-point loss in FBD Semple Stadium on ...
Read More

‘1973: Keeping the Dream Alive‘ officially launches at the Woodlands

Limerick's 1973 All-Ireland win has been commemorated with the release of this new book, which was launched on ...
Read More

Newcastle West clinch three-in-a-row while Mungret promoted to Senior | Football Finals Round-Up

Jimmy Lee's men won by the minimum in the TUS Gaelic Grounds, with Mungret St Paul's getting past ...
Read More