WATCH: Patrickswell earn 20th Daly Cup with five point win over Na Piarsaigh

Patrickswell are Limerick SHC champions after a 1-17 to 0-15 victory over holders Na Piarsaigh at LIT Gaelic Grounds.

Ciarán Carey’s side earned the club’s 20th every title with a performance that derailed Na Piarsaigh’s bid for three in a row.

Aaron Gillane top scored for the ‘Well with 0-6, while young midfielder Josh Considine chipped in with 1-2 from play.

Peter Casey led Na Piarsaigh’s challenge with an imperious six from play, but it wasn’t to be the Caherdavin side’s day.

They sides were level three teams in the opening 11 minutes, but scores from Thomas O’Brien and Considine put Patrickswell 0-5 to 0-3 ahead.

The ‘Well were then further boosted when Considine fired in a stunning goal that stretched their lead to five.

That advantage stood at six points at the break (1-9 to 0-6) with both sides nowhere near their top level.

Na Piarsaigh hit their only purple patch with the first six scores of the second half and also held their opponents scoreless in the opening 20 minutes.

Limerick Senior Hurling Championship Final, LIT Gaelic Grounds, Limerick 6/10/2019 Patrickswell vs Na Piarsaigh Patrickswell’s Cian Lynch and Ronan Lynch of Na Piarsaigh Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/James Crombie

A long range Diarmaid Byrnes effort from play got Patrickswell back on track and a Gillane free then extended that advantage to two.

Casey brought the margin back to one again, but Considine, Gillane and an outstanding Cian Lynch point saw them 1-14 to 0-13 ahead with four minutes remaining.

Na Piarsaigh had no way back from there and Patrickswell landed their 20th Daly Cup by a five point winning margin.

Scorers – Patrickswell: Aaron Gillane 0-6 (6f), Josh Considine 1-2, Cian Lynch 0-3, Jack Kelliher and Diarmaid Byrnes (1f) 0-2 each, Thomas O’Brien and Andrew Carroll 0-1 each.

Scorers – Na Piarsaigh: Peter Casey 0-7 (1f), Will Henn 0-3 (3f), Adrian Breen 0-2, David Dempsey, Ronan Lynch and Alan Dempsey 0-1 each.

Social Sharing

Posted in

WATCH: Banogue and Knockane contest epic 2019 JBFC Final

Tonights Limerick GAA action from the archive is last years Junior B Football Championship between Knockane and Banogue. ...
Read More

WATCH: Limerick meet Waterford in the 2007 Munster Intermediate Hurling Final

Tonights Limerick GAA action from the archives is the 2007 Munster intermediate final between Limerick and Waterford in ...
Read More

WATCH: 2018 Minor Premier Hurling final between Garryspillane and Patrickswell

For our Saturday night GAA action from the Archive, we go back to the 2018 Minor Premier Hurling ...
Read More

WATCH: Kilmallock face Na Piarsaigh in the 2018 Limerick SHC semi-final

For our Saturday night action, we go back to 2018 to the Limerick SHC semi-final between Na Piarsaigh ...
Read More

WATCH: 2018 Limerick SHC semi-final between Patrickswell and Doon

Tonight's Limerick GAA action from the archives is the 2018 Limerick Senior Hurling Championship semi-final between Patrickswell and ...
Read More

TG4 to broadcast the Limerick SHC clash between Na Piarsaigh and Kilmallock

Limerick Senior Hurling Championship is set to be televised on TG4 from July. TG4 confirmed on Friday that ...
Read More

No water carrier but water breaks as GAA reiterate new rules for return to play

Ahead of the return to championship action in the GAA from next week, the association have drawn up ...
Read More

Reeling in the Years: Limerick GAA’s 2017

Our Reeling in the Years of Limerick GAA continues today as we go back to 2017 as the ...
Read More