Five Academy Players Promoted to Senior Ranks

Greencore Academy players Stephen Fitzgerald, Dan Goggin, Bill Johnston, Conor Oliver and Brian Scott have all been rewarded with senior development contracts for next season.

Fitzgerald, Scott and Goggin graduate after completing three years of the academy programme while Oliver and Johnston advance after completing two years.

21-year-old fullback/winger Stephen Fitzgerald made his Guinness PRO12 debut in September 2015 scoring a try against Ospreys at the Liberty Stadium.

Centre Dan Goggin’s progression accelerated during his final season of the academy after the 22-year-old made his PRO12 debut starting against Scarlets at the Liberty Stadium last September, then going on to make 14 appearances for the season.

Dan Goggin in action this season


Fellow third year player Brian Scott can play on both sides of the scrum as a tight and loose-head prop.  The 24-year-old made his PRO12 debut against Scarlets in the opening round of the tournament and went on to make his Champions Cup debut against Glasgow in October.

Although his progress has been hampered by a number of injuries 20-year-old Bill Johnston has shown his potential and talent when previously lining out for the Ireland U20s, Munster A and his club side Garryowen FC.

In just his second year with the academy, Conor Oliver stood out as one to watch for the future and was deservedly named the Academy Player of the Year at the start of May.

Conor Oliver

Conor Oliver has impressed this year


The departing Rory Burke will continue his professional rugby career with Nottingham Rugby, while Shannon’s Greg O’Shea will continue his involvement with the Ireland 7s programme.

The second year trio of Cork Con’s Ned Hodson, Young Munster’s Ben Kilkenny and Garryowen’s Steven McMahon have also completed their time with the programme.  McMahon most recently joined O’Shea when lining out for Ireland 7s at the Amsterdam 7s.

The first year intake will be confirmed in the coming weeks.

Munster Rugby Greencore Academy

Year 3: Liam O’Connor (Prop/Cork Con), JP Phelan (Prop/Garryowen).

Year 2: Gavin Coombes (Backrow/Young Munster), Shane Daly (Centre/Cork Con), John Foley (Backrow/Shannon), Calvin Nash (Centre/Wing/Young Munster), Vincent O’Brien (Hooker/Cork Con), Sean O’Connor (Lock/Garryowen), Fineen Wycherley (Lock/Young Munster).

Year 1: TBC

Social Sharing

Posted in

Tickets for Munster’s first five URC games now available

Tickets are now on sale for Munster’s opening five games of the 2022/23 United Rugby Championship season. Munster's ...
Read More

Munster feature in five of the ten most watched games & more stats from the inaugural URC season

Over 34 million fans tuned into the inaugural URC season as the league set a number of major ...
Read More

Squad Update | Irish Internationals return to HPC with Pre-Season opener looming

Munster's preseason opener with Gloucester is less than a fortnight away. Munster’s Ireland internationals have all commenced their ...
Read More

“It’s something I always had in the back of my mind” | Mike Prendergast on returning home as Munster coach

The Limerick man returned to the province this summer from Top 14 side Racing 92, where he held ...
Read More

Limerick clubs learn opponents for Bank Of Ireland Munster Senior Challenge Cup

The draw has been made for the 2022/23 Bank of Ireland Munster Senior Challenge Cup with 16 teams ...
Read More

“There’s a lot of trust between all of us already” | New Munster forwards coach Andi Kyriacou settling in well to new role

Kyriacou represented Munster in the 2006/07 season on loan from Saracens. Newly-appointed Munster forwards coach Andi Kyriacou has ...
Read More

“Very enjoyable so far” | Denis Leamy enjoying return to Munster as Defence Coach

Leamy will return to the province, whom he represented for eleven years, as a coach this season. Shortly ...
Read More

Munster to kick off URC season with Friday night clash in Cardiff as fixtures confirmed

Full fixture details have been confirmed for all 18 of Munster’s 2022/23 United Rugby Championship fixtures. The campaign ...
Read More