Graham Shine makes one change to Limerick side for All-Ireland Ladies Football Final

The team is captained by Roisin Ambrose and she is one of four players that remain from the 2018 success over Louth.

Graham Shine has named his Limerick Ladies Football side for their Lidl All-Ireland Junior Final with Down this Sunday in Croke Park.

Into the side comes Caoimhe McGrath as she replaces Iris Kenneally from the team that defeated Fermanagh in the semi-finals. McGrath replaced the injured Old Mill star and wasted little time in making her mark, kicking 0-6 in the second half in the last four victory.

Elsewhere it’s as was against the Lakeland County with throw in Croker this Sunday at 11.45am with the Intermediate and Senior Finals also on.

8 August 2023; In attendance at the 2023 TG4 All-Ireland Ladies Football Championship Finals Captains Day are Meghan Doherty of Down, left, and Róisin Ambrose of Limerick at Croke Park in Dublin. Photo by Sam Barnes/Sportsfile

The team is captained by Roisin Ambrose and she is one of four players that remain from the 2018 success over Louth alongside Cathy Mee, Amy Ryan and Katie Heelan. Mee and Ryan start in attack while Ambrose is in midfield. Heelan is kept in reserve.

This will be Limerick’s first final since 2018 when they bested Louth at the same venue. They were relegated the following year and lost three successive semi-finals before getting over the line against Fermanagh last time out.

Down will be seeing an immediate return to the Intermediate ranks after suffering relegation last year.

Limerick team to play Down

  1. Carol Bateman
  2. Alva Quaid
  3. Yvonne Lee
  4. Meadhbh MacNamara
  5. Grace Lee
  6. Laura Walshe
  7. Lauren Ryan
  8. Roisin Ambrose
  9. Fiona Bradshaw
  10. Deborah Murphy
  11. Karen O’Leary
  12. Cathy Mee
  13. Leah Coughlan
  14. Amy Ryan
  15. Caoimhe McGrath
  16. Sophie Hennessy
  17. Iris Kenneally
  18. Andrea O’Sullivan
  19. Katie Heelan
  20. Clare O’Meara
  21. Laoise Browne
  22. Grainne McKenna
  23. Anna O’Dea
  24. Roisin Breedy
  25. Chloe Brosnahan
  26. Ellie Woulfe
  27. Sarah Dillon
  28. Rose Hyland
  29. Kate Kennedy
  30. Amy Curtin
  31. Aoife Corbett
  32. Kate Geary
  33. Joanne Foley
  34. Rebecca Fitzgibbon
  35. Isabelle Swann
  36. Ailish Kiely

GAA coverage on Sporting Limerick is brought to you in association with Noels Menswear, shop online here or visit in Dooradoyle, Limerick City or Newcastle West.

Social Sharing

Posted in

Sligo a bridge too far for Limerick as Tailteann dream ends

Sligo 2-20Limerick 0-9By Tom Clancy in Markievicz ParkLimerick’s hopes of a trip to Croke Park were wiped away ...
Read More

WATCH | Kiely, Gillane & O’Neill react after historic Munster SHC victory

Limerick made more history when claiming a record breaking sixth Munster Senior Hurling title in a row, thanks ...
Read More

Six of the best – Limerick claim record breaking Munster title

Limerick 1-26Clare 1-20By Tom Clancy in ThurlesLimerick made more history when claiming a record breaking sixth Munster Senior ...
Read More

Confident Limerick march over Tipperary with third straight victory

Tom Clancy in Rathkeale Limerick 1-18Tipperary 1-10Limerick advanced to the last eight of the Tailteann Cup for the ...
Read More

Limerick’s road to the Munster SHC final | RECAP

This set up a three-peat Munster final with Clare, in Thurles on June 9th, while Cork come through ...
Read More

Goals key again as Limerick advance in Tailteann Cup

Limerick 2-14London 0-10 Two first-half goals, in the dying embers of the opening thirty-five minutes were the platform ...
Read More

Limerick name side for London Tailteann Cup clash | TEAM NEWS

Iain Corbett captains the side at half-back, with Barry Coleman on the other flank and Cillian Fahy in ...
Read More

“We’re still here” | John Kiely defiant after booking Munster final spot

Kiely said he was "delighted" that his team's "average performance level is up," but conceded that his players ...
Read More