Limerick crowned All-Ireland Golf Champions

Limerick has been crowned the All-Ireland Fourball Inter-Club Champions after they beat a tough Ardee Team last Sunday by a score of 3 matches to 2 at Roe Park Golf Course.

Fresh off the back of their 9&7 win in their semi-final match on Saturday, Limerick’s Paul Byrnes and Maurice Hickey continued their sensational form into the final, accounting for Fergus Duff and John Clarke by 8&7. Eamon Grimes and Pat Lee would add Limerick’s second point by beating Keith Taaffe and Noel Malone by 2&1.

Hugh Conlon (Limerick) on the 12th tee during the final round of the All Ireland Four Ball Interclub Final, Roe Park resort, Limavady, Derry, Northern Ireland. 15/09/2019.Picture Fran Caffrey / Golffile.ieAll photo usage must carry mandatory copyright credit (© Golffile | Fran Caffrey)

Ardee’s Raymond Brady and Brendan McConnell secured the Louth side’s first point in a 4&3 win over Gerard Gleeson and Gavin Cross. What followed was a dramatic conclusion when Eamonn Young and James Garlandout sealed a win over Ger Naughton and Edgar Ahern on the 18th Hole.

The competition attracted a huge field of 300 clubs at two matches apiece in the final, it came down to the last match which finished all-square after 18.

Limerick pair Michael Ahern and Hugh Conlon were up against Ardee’s Thomas Goslin and Louise Taaffe.  A superb approach by Conlon to the first play-off hole and a two-putt par was enough for the win and gave Limerick their first win in this championship.

Social Sharing

Posted in

Ronan Coughlan