Limerick duo included in Irish women’s hockey squad as World Cup preperation continues

Roisin Upton and Rebecca Barry have been included in Graham Shaw’s squad for Ireland’s upcoming four match test series with Spain, who are currently ranked 11th in the world.

The series will be the first international fixtures of the year for the Green Army following a fitness block in training and Shaw has elected to bring a large squad to Benalmadena, as his side continue preperation for Ireland’s World Cup opener against USA on Saturday July 21st.

The Limerick duo now ply their trade with Cork Harlequins. Upton was a star player during her stint with the University of Connecticut in the US while Barry was once nominated for an ESPN award following this fantastic solo goal for the University of Richmond.

Video courtesy of RichmondSpiders.

Please accept YouTube cookies to play this video. By accepting you will be accessing content from YouTube, a service provided by an external third party.

YouTube privacy policy

If you accept this notice, your choice will be saved and the page will refresh.


1. Grace O Flanagan-Railway Union

2. Emma Buckley-Cork Harlequins

3. Clodagh Cassin-UCD

4. Zoe Wilson-Belfast Harlequins

5. Erin Getty-Queens (TBC)

6. Yvonne O’Byrne-Cork Harlequins

7. Lena Tice-UCD

8. Chloe Watkins-Bloemendaal (TBC)

9. Chloe Brown-Ards

10. Ali Meeke-Loreto

11. Lizzie Colvin-Belfast Harlequins

12. Anna O’Flanagan-Bloemendaal

13. Ellen Curran-UCD

14. Deirdre Duke-UCD

15. Nicola Evans-UHC Hamburg

16. Naomi Carroll-Cork Harlequins

17. Hannah Matthews-Loreto

18. Emma Russell-UCD

19. Sarah Torrans-Loreto

20. Rebecca Barry-Cork Harlequins

21. Emily Beatty-Pembroke

22. Aisling Naughton-Pembroke

23. Gill Pinder Pembroke

24. Shirley McCay-Pegasus

25. Leah McGuire-UCD

26. Roisin Upton-Cork Harlequins

27. Katie Mullan-UCD

28. Nicci Daly-Loreto

29. Kate Lloyd-Railway Union

*The participation of Chloe Watkins and Erin Getty will be dependent on results following injury assessment.

Match Details vs Spain in CHP Benalmadena:

February 6th at 7pm Ireland vs Spain

February 8th at 1pm Ireland vs Spain

February 10th 12pm Ireland vs Spain

February 11th 12pm Ireland vs Spain

*All times listed are local


Social Sharing

Posted in

Luke Liddy