Limerick footballers bow out of Munster SFC following 11-point loss to Cork

Jimmy Lee’s senior footballers exited the Munster SFC at the quarter-final stage this afternoon following a 3-13 to 0-11 defeat at SuperValue Pairc Ui Chaoimh.

Mistakes killed Limerick’s chances with their opponents landing three goals in the second half to set up a semi-final fixture with Kerry.

Limerick had led 0-7 to 0-6 having been aided by a gale force breeze in the opening half but Cork soon turned things in their favour thanks to a Chris Óg Jones goal early in the second half.

Further three pointers followed in the final stages from Ruairi Deane and Ian Maguire that sealed victory for John Cleary’s men.

7 April 2024; Cormac Woulfe of Limerick in action against Tommy Walsh of Cork during the Munster GAA Football Senior Championship quarter-final match between Cork and Limerick at SuperValu Páirc Ui Chaoimh in Cork. Photo by Tom Beary/Sportsfile

Limerick held a one-point advantage after 11 minutes (0-3 to 0-2) with James Naughton landing a point and a superb long range effort from Emmet Rigter.

Bob Childs then made it a two-point advantage but Cork were soon back in front after scores from Brian Hurley (2) and Daniel O’Mahony.

However, Limerick finished the half strongly with Bryan Nix, Naughton and Peter Nash hitting the target to ensure a one-point advantage.

Cork made a fast start to the second half with Jones, Brian O’Driscoll and Hurley points seeing them two points to the good. Jones then hit the target with a powerful finish after Limerick were turned over in midfield.

The Leesiders then stretched their lead to seven points but Limerick closed that gap to four with Rigter, Shane Costello and Tommie Childs raising white flags.

Any hope of a late comeback ended though with Deane and Maguire firing to the net late on to seal a victory for Cork.

SCORERS – LIMERICK: James Naughton 0-4 (2 ’45s, 1f), Emmet Rigter 0-2, Bryan Nix, Bob Childs, Peter Nash (1f), Tommie Childs and Shane Costello 0-1 each.

SCORERS – CORK: Chris Óg Jones 1-2, Brian Hurley 0-4 (3f), Ruairi Deane and Ian Maguire 1-0, Luke Fahy 0-2, Marry Taylor, Daniel O’Mahony, Brian O’Driscoll, Stephen Sherlock (1f) and Conor Corbett 0-1 each.

LIMERICK: Josh Ryan (Oola); Darren O’Doherty (Newcastle West), Sean O’Dea (Kilteely-Dromkeen), Brian O’Sullivan (Newcastle West); Cormac Woulfe (St Senan’s), Cillian Fahy (Drom-Broadford), Paul Maher (Adare); Tommie Childs (Galtee Gaels), Emmet Rigter (Newcastle West); Bryan Nix (Newcastle West), Cathal Downes (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), James Naughton (St Senan’s); Peter Nash (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Bob Childs (Galtee Gaels), Danny Neville (Ballysteen).

SUBS: Shane Costello (Adare) for Downes (55), Barry Coleman (Rathkeale) for Woulfe (55), J Baynham (Monagea) for Nash (59), Tommy Griffin (Gerald Griffins) for Nix (68), Ruadhan O’Connor (Newcastle West) for O’Sullivan (68).

CORK: Christopher Kelly; Kevin Flahive, Daniel O’Mahony, Tommy Walsh; Luke Fahy, Sean Meehan, Matty Taylor; Ian Maguire, Colm O’Callaghan; Paul Walsh, Sean Powter, Brian O’Driscoll; Chris Og Jones, Conor Corbett, Brian Hurley.

SUBS: Ruairi Deane for Walsh (47), Maurice Shanley for Meehan (48), Stephen Sherlock for Hurley (52), Mark Cronin for Powter (59), Thomas Clancy for Fahy (63, blood), John O’Rourke for O’Driscoll (66).

REFEREE: Fergal Kelly (Longford).

Social Sharing

Posted in

“We’re still here” | John Kiely defiant after booking Munster final spot

Kiely said he was "delighted" that his team's "average performance level is up," but conceded that his players ...
Read More

Limerick march through to Munster final after Waterford success

Limerick reached a sixth Munster final in a row after eventually shaking off Waterford to defeat their Munster ...
Read More

Kilkenny too strong for Limerick in Camogie Championship opener

Limerick 0-4Kilkenny 1-19By Tom Clancy at Mick Neville ParkLimerick's Senior Camogie side fell to a disappointing 18-point reverse ...
Read More

Limerick v Waterford | Last Five Championship Clashes

Ahead of this Saturday’s meeting, relive the last five championship clashes between the Munster rivals. Limerick and Waterford ...
Read More

Limerick Senior hurling team named for Waterford clash | TEAM NEWS

Gearoid Hegarty and Tom Morrissey assume their familiar half-forward roles, with Seamus Flanagan named at full-forward. John Kiely ...
Read More

Limerick defeat Offaly in Tailteann Cup meeting

The Shannonsiders had gone 364 days without a victory of any sort, stopping the rot one day short ...
Read More

“We put ourselves in a position to win the game”| John Kiely reflects on Cork defeat

The boss did also highlight that "it's a four game competition" and that "everything is not lost or ...
Read More

John Kiely names Limerick team for Cork clash | TEAM NEWS

Gearoid Hegarty and Tom Morrissey assume their familiar half-forward roles, with Seamus Flanagan named at full-forward. John Kiely ...
Read More