Limerick footballers unchanged for Sligo Allianz League visit

It means Newcastlewest man Iain Corbett captains the side once more, with a number of positional switches being made for this tie.

Limerick football boss Jimmy Lee has named an unchanged starting XV as his side host Sligo in the Allianz Football League on Sunday.

The action is set to kick off at 2pm in Mick Neville Park, with the Shannonsiders in search of their first victory of the 2024 league campaign.

Having handed out two league debuts in the damaging loss to Down, Lee has opted to persist with the same starting side, hoping to find some consistency.

It means Newcastlewest man Iain Corbett captains the side once more, with a number of positional switches being made for this tie.

Aaron O’Sullivan is set to start in goal while Jim Liston, Sean O’Dea and Brian O’Sullivan complete the full-backline in front of him.

Colm McSweeney starts as centre-back, with Paul Maher and Barry Coleman either side of him. Tommy Childs and Tommy Griffin continue their midfield partnership.

Iain Corbett is named alongside Cathal Downes and Cillian Fahy in the half-forward line, while Peter Nash and Eoin Hurley complete a full-forward line that sees Robbie Childs moved to 14.

Limerick team to play Sligo:

  1. Aaron O’Sullivan
  2. Jim Liston
  3. Sean O’Dea
  4. Brian O’Sullivan
  5. Barry Coleman
  6. Colm McSweeney
  7. Paul Maher
  8. Tommy Childs
  9. Tommy Griffin
  10. Iain Corbett (C)
  11. Cathal Downes
  12. Cillian Fahy
  13. Eoin Hurley
  14. Robbie Childs
  15. Peter Nash

GAA coverage on Sporting Limerick is brought to you in association with Noels Menswear, shop online here or visit in Dooradoyle, Limerick City or Newcastle West.

Social Sharing

Posted in

Sadness at passing of former Limerick GAA County Board Chairman

The high point of his career in GAA administration came when he was elected chairman of Limerick County ...
Read More

Limerick v Tipperary | Last Five Championship Clashes | 2019-’23

Under John Kiely, Limerick have dominated the fixtures between the Munster rivals, winning four of the last five ...
Read More

“We know how to finish the game” | Gearóid Hegarty speaks after Clare Man of the Match display

It was Hegarty who landed the Man of the Match crown, hitting three points while being instrumental in ...
Read More

“We felt quite comfortable in the end” | John Kiely speaks after Limerick’s Clare comeback kicks off Munster campaign

The second half introductions of Ó Dálaigh, Adam English and Conor Boylan were, in Kiely's words, "pivotal" in ...
Read More

Limerick name team for Munster Hurling Championship opener | TEAM NEWS

The Shannonsiders carry immense threat in the corners, with Hurler of the Year Aaron Gillane named in one, ...
Read More

Limerick name minor hurling team for Clare clash | TEAM NEWS

Diarmuid Hurley is named at 14, joined by Danny Sheehan and Malachy McKenna in the inside-forward line. Limerick ...
Read More

Ambrose, Lee and Murphy in Division 4 Team of the Year

The Limerick trio join six Carlow representatives in the side, alongside a Leitrim trio and a Fermanagh pair. ...
Read More

Limerick v Clare | Last Five Championship Clashes 2020-’23

With pride at stake when the old rivals meet on April 21, we look back at their five ...
Read More