Monagea set up repeat Ladies SFC final as Galtee Gaels see off Mungret in Intermediate semi-final replay

It sets up a repeat of last year’s final in the decider as Monagea will meet St Alibes once more. They got past Ballylanders last weekend.

Back to back champions Monagea secured their place in the Limerick Ladies SFC final with a comfortable win over Oola in their refixed last four tie.

In UL on Friday night, the West outfit inflicted a first defeat on last year’s Intermediate champions after they came through their group with a perfect record.

It sets up a repeat of last year’s final in the decider as Monagea will meet St Alibes once more. They got past Ballylanders last weekend.

Between them, they have won each of the last five titles on offer as they meet in the final for the fourth time since 2018.

Karen O’Leary

Elsewhere, the finalists in the Intermediate championship are confirmed with Galtee Gaels joining Murroe Boher in the decider.

There was nothing to separate Galtee Gaels and Mungret St Pauls in their replay with it finishing all square in normal time.

However, it was the South outfit that got the upper hand after extra-time as they now stand just one game from successive promotions.

Limerick Ladies Football Championship semi-finals


  • Monagea 0-10 : 0-3 Oola


  • Galtee Gaels 3-17 : 2-18 Mungret St Pauls

GAA coverage on Sporting Limerick is brought to you in association with Noels Menswear, shop online here or visit in Dooradoyle, Limerick City or Newcastle West.

Social Sharing

Posted in

John Kiely’s management team confirmed for 2024

Joe O'Connor returns to the fold as High Performance Manager, joined by John Flavin who comes into the ...
Read More

Donal O’Sullivan announces intercounty retirement

The news that the Monaleen man is retiring from intercounty football will be greeted with great disappointment. Limerick ...
Read More

Lacklustre Na Piarsaigh bow out to Ballygunner

Na Piarsaigh slumped to a four point loss in their Munster Senior Club Hurling Championship semi-final, against Ballygunner ...
Read More

Aaron Gillane wins 2023 Hurler of the Year

Patrickswell sharpshooter Aaron Gillane crowned a superb 2023 for both himself and Limerick by claiming the 2023 All ...
Read More

Limerick rewarded with magnificent seven All-Star spots following remarkable four-in-a-row

The Treaty County lead the way with Kilkenny capturing five places, Clare having two and Galway's Conor Whelan ...
Read More

Newcastle West exit Munster championship after Clonmel Commercials loss

Jimmy Lee's men bowed out of the provincial championship after a seven-point loss in FBD Semple Stadium on ...
Read More

‘1973: Keeping the Dream Alive‘ officially launches at the Woodlands

Limerick's 1973 All-Ireland win has been commemorated with the release of this new book, which was launched on ...
Read More

Newcastle West clinch three-in-a-row while Mungret promoted to Senior | Football Finals Round-Up

Jimmy Lee's men won by the minimum in the TUS Gaelic Grounds, with Mungret St Paul's getting past ...
Read More