Munster name strong side for Worcester friendly

Rassie Erasmus names strong side for Thursday’s preseason friendly with Worcester Warriors.

Munster travel with an extended match day squad of 27 players made up of senior and academy players.

Academy player Liam O’Connor is named in the front row alongside Rhys Marshall and Stephen Archer while in the second row, Jean Kleyn returns after recovering from a neck injury and is joined by fellow South African and new signing Gerbrandt Grobler who makes his debut for the province.

Billy Holland, Tommy O’Donnell and Jack O’Donoghue make up the back row with Duncan Williams and Tyler Bleyendaal (captain) resuming their partnership as halfbacks. In the midfield Jaco Taute will partner Chris Farrell of whom much is expected. One thing is for sure, Munster’s midfield will not want for bulk of size, but Farrell has much more to his armoury than brute force.

The back three represent the fruits of Munster’s academy system over the last few years with wingers Alex Wootton and Darren Sweetnam, and recently graduated fullback Stephen Fitzgerald all staring.

Newly recruited former Sale Sharks and England U20 prop Ciaran Parker is named amongst the replacements as is new man James Hart from Racing 92.

Mike Sherry returns following a long term back injury that has kept him sidelined for over a year. Also named on the bench are club players James Rochford (Dolphin) and Ronan Coffey (sub-academy and Shannon).

Munster: Stephen Fitzgerald, Darren Sweetnam, Chris Farrell, Jaco Taute, Alex Wootton; Tyler Bleyendaal – capt., Duncan Williams; Liam O’Connor, Rhys Marshall, Stephen Archer; Jean Kleyn, Gerbrandt Grobler; Billy Holland, Tommy O’Donnell, Jack O’Donoghue.

Replacements from: Mike Sherry, Brian Scott, James Rochford, Sean O’Connor, Ronan Coffey, Gavin Coombes, Sean McCarthy, James Hart, Ian Keatley, Dan Goggin, Ciaran Parker, David Johnston.

Worcester Warriors v Munster Rugby, Thursday August 24th at Sixways Stadium – ko 7.30pm.

Social Sharing

Posted in

Munster exit URC with Glasgow defeat at Thomond Park | HIGHLIGHTS

Munster gained their first try after RG Snyman set up an attack, passing to Jeremy Loughman who stormed ...
Read More

Munster Rugby issue squad update

Along with the 23 players who featured against Ospreys at Thomond Park on Friday night, there were 17 ...
Read More

Munster through to URC semi-final with Ospreys victory | HIGHLIGHTS

The hosts saw out the remainder of the game to secure a semi-final, fixed for next Saturday at ...
Read More

Munster all set for Ospreys clash | TEAM NEWS

Jeremy Loughman, Niall Scannell and Stephen Archer pack down in the front row with RG Snyman and captain ...
Read More

Munster Rugby issue squad update

Tom Ahern suffered an ankle/lower leg injury against Ulster and has undergone a scan, he is unavailable for ...
Read More

Munster top URC with bonus-point Ulster win | HIGHLIGHTS

The bonus-point win sees Munster secure first seed and Rowntree’s side will now take on Ospreys at Thomond ...
Read More

Munster name team to face Ulster | TEAM NEWS

Kendellen, Ahern and Coombes are set to continue their record of playing in every URC and Champions Cup ...
Read More

Munster Rugby issue squad update ahead of Ulster clash

Munster have won 12 of their 17 games so far, drawing one and losing four to sit top ...
Read More