Nash one of four Munster men set to start France Six Nations clash

Peter O’Mahony captains Ireland for the Round 1 clash at Stade Velodrome, with a number of players in line for their Championship debuts in green.

Ireland Head Coach Andy Farrell has named his Match Day Squad for Friday night’s Guinness Men’s Six Nations opener against France, with Calvin Nash in line to start on the right wing in Marseille. (Kick-off 9pm local time/8pm Irish time).

Peter O’Mahony captains Ireland for the Round 1 clash at Stade Velodrome, with a number of players in line for their Championship debuts in green.

Joe McCarthy has been named to start in the second row alongside Tadhg Beirne, while Nash lines up on the right wing having made his Test debut against Italy in last summer’s Bank of Ireland Nations Series.

Nash is joined in the back three by Hugo Keenan at full-back and James Lowe on the left, with Bundee Aki partnering Robbie Henshaw in the Ireland midfield.

In the half backs, Jamison Gibson-Park starts at nine alongside Jack Crowley at out-half, who is in line for his first Six Nations start.

Andrew Porter, Dan Sheehan and Tadhg Furlong are selected in the front row, with McCarthy set for his sixth cap in the engine room beside Beirne. Captain O’Mahony, Josh van der Flier and Caelan Doris complete the Ireland starting team.

Farrell has opted for a six-two split on the replacements bench with Ronan Kelleher, the fit again Cian Healy, Finlay Bealham, James Ryan, Ryan Baird and Jack Conan providing the reinforcements in the pack, with Conor Murray and Ciaran Frawley – also in line for his first Championship appearance – the backline options.

Friday’s match is live on Virgin Media One in Republic of Ireland and ITV in the United Kingdom.

Ireland team to play France:

15. Hugo Keenan (UCD/Leinster)(36)

14. Calvin Nash (Young Munster/Munster)(1)

13. Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Leinster)(67)

12. Bundee Aki (Galwegians/Connacht)(52)

11. James Lowe (Leinster)(26)

10. Jack Crowley (Cork Constitution/Munster)(9)

9. Jamison Gibson-Park (Leinster)(30)

1. Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster)(59)

2. Dan Sheehan (Lansdowne/Leinster)(21)

3. Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster)(72)

4. Joe McCarthy (Dublin University/Leinster)(5)

5. Tadhg Beirne (Lansdowne/Munster)(46)

6. Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster)(C)(101)

7. Josh van der Flier (UCD/Leinster)(57)

8. Caelan Doris (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)(36)


16. Ronan Kelleher (Lansdowne/Leinster)(26)

17. Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster)(125)

18. Finlay Bealham (Buccaneers/Connacht)(36)

19. James Ryan (UCD/Leinster)(59)

20. Ryan Baird (Dublin University/Leinster)(15)

21. Jack Conan (Old Belvedere/Leinster)(41)

22. Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster)(112)

23. Ciaran Frawley (UCD/Leinster)(1).

Social Sharing

Posted in

Munster exit URC with Glasgow defeat at Thomond Park | HIGHLIGHTS

Munster gained their first try after RG Snyman set up an attack, passing to Jeremy Loughman who stormed ...
Read More

Munster Rugby issue squad update

Along with the 23 players who featured against Ospreys at Thomond Park on Friday night, there were 17 ...
Read More

Munster through to URC semi-final with Ospreys victory | HIGHLIGHTS

The hosts saw out the remainder of the game to secure a semi-final, fixed for next Saturday at ...
Read More

Munster all set for Ospreys clash | TEAM NEWS

Jeremy Loughman, Niall Scannell and Stephen Archer pack down in the front row with RG Snyman and captain ...
Read More

Munster Rugby issue squad update

Tom Ahern suffered an ankle/lower leg injury against Ulster and has undergone a scan, he is unavailable for ...
Read More

Munster top URC with bonus-point Ulster win | HIGHLIGHTS

The bonus-point win sees Munster secure first seed and Rowntree’s side will now take on Ospreys at Thomond ...
Read More

Munster name team to face Ulster | TEAM NEWS

Kendellen, Ahern and Coombes are set to continue their record of playing in every URC and Champions Cup ...
Read More

Munster Rugby issue squad update ahead of Ulster clash

Munster have won 12 of their 17 games so far, drawing one and losing four to sit top ...
Read More