NUIG dominate as UL have four named on Electric Ireland Sigerson Cup TOTY

The Limerick college fell at the final hurdle to the Galway outfit.

The University of Limerick have had four players named to the Electric Ireland GAA Higher Education GAA Sigerson Cup Team of the Year after reaching the final of the competition.

Declan Brouder’s men fell just short in the final, losing their second ever final to NUIG in February. The champions have seven players selected.

UL’s Eoghan McLoughlin (Mayo), Sean Powter (Cork), Emmet McMahon (Clare) and David Clifford (Kerry) are named among the XV.

UL’s semi-final opponents DCU have a pair chosen, as do MTU who were beaten by NUIG in the other last four clash.

Last week the Fitzgibbon Cup TOTY was released where champions UL had six players chosen with Cian Lynch also selected for NUIG.

The player of the year in both the Sigerson and Fitzgibbon Cups will be revealed on April 4.

2022 Electric Ireland Higher Education GAA Rising Stars Football Team of the Year

1.    Conor Carroll – NUIG, Oranmore-Maree, Roscommon

2.    Eoghan McLaughlin – UL, Westport, Mayo

3.    Shea Ryan – DCU, Newbridge Sarsfields, Kildare

4.    Fionán Mackessy – MTUK, Ardfert, Kerry

5.    Sean Powter – UL, Douglas, Cork

6.    Eoin Kelly – NUIG, Moycullen, Galway

7.    Sean Kelly – NUIG, Moycullen, Galway

8.    Red Óg Murphy – DCU, Curry, Sligo

9.    Matthew Tierney – NUIG, Oughterard, Galway

10. Fionn McDonagh – NUIG, Westport, Mayo

11. Emmet McMahon – UL, Kildysart, Clare

12. Gavin Burke – NUIG, Corofin, Galway

13. Cathal Heneghan – NUIG, Glaveys, Roscommon

14. David Clifford – UL, Fossa, Kerry

15. Tony Brosnan – MTUK, Dr. Crokes, Kerry

This year’s Electric Ireland’s #FirstClassRivals campaign celebrated the unexpected alliances that were formed by County rivals coming together in pursuit of some of the most coveted titles in the GAA.

The Electric Ireland Higher Education GAA Rising Star Hurling and Football Player of the Year announced on April 4th. These awards will acknowledge one outstanding performance from this year’s Fitzgibbon and Sigerson Cup Championships.

Social Sharing

Posted in

Limerick defeat Offaly in Tailteann Cup meeting

The Shannonsiders had gone 364 days without a victory of any sort, stopping the rot one day short ...
Read More

“We put ourselves in a position to win the game”| John Kiely reflects on Cork defeat

The boss did also highlight that "it's a four game competition" and that "everything is not lost or ...
Read More

John Kiely names Limerick team for Cork clash | TEAM NEWS

Gearoid Hegarty and Tom Morrissey assume their familiar half-forward roles, with Seamus Flanagan named at full-forward. John Kiely ...
Read More

Limerick U20 hurling team named for Waterford meeting | TEAM NEWS

Kilmallock's Shane O’Brien leads the full-forward line, flanked by Fintan Fitzgerald in one corner and Oisin O’Farrell in ...
Read More

Limerick name minor hurling team for Waterford meeting | TEAM NEWS

Joint-captain Diarmuid Hurley continues at full-forward, joined by Jack Fitzgerald and Patrick Kearney in the inside-forward line. Limerick ...
Read More

Limerick footballers discover Tailteann Cup group opponents

Down are the bookies favourites to win this year's Tailteann Cup, priced at 7/4, while Limerick are heavy ...
Read More

“All you can ask for is effort” | Declan Hannon gives his thoughts post Tipperary win

A tight opening 25 minutes in windy conditions saw the sides draw level on five occasions, but the ...
Read More

“There are opportunities there” | John Kiely speaks after Tipperary victory

A tense opening 25 minutes saw the sides level on five occasions, with a strong breeze behind Limerick's ...
Read More