PREVIEW: Limerick minors face Cork in Munster semi

The Limerick minor hurlers are set to play Cork in the semi-final of the Electric Ireland Munster Minor Hurling Championship, this coming Tuesday July 27th at 7:30pm.

The Limerick minor hurlers have won the last 2 Munster Minor Championships in 2019 and 2020, if they manage to lift the trophy this year again they will be the first minor team to win three Munster Minor Championships in a row since Cork in ’04, ’05 and ’06.

Ronan Lyons breaks out of defence for Limerick in the Munster Minor Hurling semi-final between Limerick and Cork in Semple Stadium. CREDIT: Sport Action Photography

However Limerick have some work to do before they can start thinking about breaking any records. The Treaty side are yet to face a promising Cork team this coming Tuesday. If they are successful, a Waterford or Tipperary side will stand between them and their third consecutive minor title on August 9th.

This minor side is once again under new management, with Mungret St. Paul’s Kevin O’Hagan in as manager. The backroom staff aiding O’Hagan is made up of Ger Barry of Killeedy, Liam Reale of Hospital-Herbertstown, South Liberties’ Mark Keane & Liam Hammersley from Cappamore.

Hospital-Herbertstown’s Aaron Murphy has been given the nod as goalkeeper coach, while Darragh Droog of Hagan’s club Mungret St Pauls takes over as strength and conditioning coach.

Take a look at the Limerick Minor Hurling panel below:

  • Killian Ahern (Blackrock)
  • JJ Condon (Knockaderry)
  • Pierce Connery (Kilmallock)
  • James Connolly (Staker Wallace)
  • Liam Dennehy (Glenroe)
  • Ewan Dillon (Effin)
  • William Dore (Dromin/Athlacca)
  • Mark Field (Monaleen)
  • David Fitzgerald (Kildimo/Pallaskenry)
  • Joe Fitzgerald (Monaleen) (Vice-Captain)
  • Mike Fitzgibbon (Cappamore)
  • Harry Fox (Hospital/Herbertstown)
  • Mikey Gavin (Ballybrown)
  • Vince Harrington (Na Piarsaigh)
  • Con Hayes (Newcastle West)
  • Wayne Kearns (Na Piarsaigh)
  • Paddy Kennedy (Garryspillane)
  • Darragh Langan (Monaleen)
  • Thomas Lynch (Doon)
  • Kevin Maher (Doon)
  • Ciaran McMahon (Kildimo/Pallaskenry)
  • Shane O’Brien (Kilmallock)
  • Rian O’Byrne (Crecora/Manister)
  • Cian O’Carroll (Croagh/Kilfinny)
  • Ryan O’Neill (Effin)
  • Michael O’Riordan (Bruff)
  • Killian Quaid (Murroe/Boher)
  • Mark Riordan (Castletown/Ballyagran)
  • Gavin Rowsome (Ahane)
  • Cian Scully (Dromin/Athlacca/Banogue) (Captain)
  • Euan Sheridan (Murroe/Boher)
  • John Whelan (Newcastle West)

Social Sharing

Posted in

Three from three as Limerick ease beyond Dublin at Croke Park

Dublin 1-18Limerick 3-30 By Tom Clancy in Croke Park LimerickIt maintains extends Limerick’s winning streak to 10 at ...
Read More

Quaid, Hayes and O’Donoghue all start as Limerick team named for Dublin showdown

O'Donoghue captains the side, the Na Piarsaigh man rekindling his relationship with Darragh O'Donovan in the middle of ...
Read More

Limerick fall to Sligo in Allianz Football League clash

Sligo headed in at the interval with a five point lead, which they would also hold when the ...
Read More

Limerick footballers unchanged for Sligo Allianz League visit

It means Newcastlewest man Iain Corbett captains the side once more, with a number of positional switches being ...
Read More

Mary Immaculate deny University of Limerick to reclaim Fitzgibbon crown

Mary Immaculate College 2-14University of Limerick 1-15 Mary Immaculate College claimed a third-ever Fitzgibbon Cup, at the expense ...
Read More

“We will be disappointed” | John Kiely speaks following tense Westmeath victory

It was a tense affair in TEG Cusack Park, with Westmeath arguably outworking the Shannonsiders, to the dismay ...
Read More

Ó Dálaigh goal key as sluggish Limerick get over Westmeath in hurling league

Westmeath 0-16Limerick 1-19By Tom Clancy in TEG Cusack ParkLimerick made it back-to-back victories, defeating Westmeath by six points ...
Read More

Youthful Limerick put on dominant Antrim display to kick off Allianz League

Dan Morrissey, Diarmaid Byrnes and Gearóid Hegarty all started in what was a youthful Limerick side, with David ...
Read More