TEAMS | Crowley starts as Murray & De Allende named on the bench in Munster side to take on Ospreys

Munster Head Coach Johann Van Graan has revealed his side to travel to Swansea to take on Ospresys in the fifth round of the URC.

Eight changes to the Van Graan’s side that defeated Connacht at Thomond Park last weekend, out-half Jack Crowley get his first starting job of the season as well as the return of Conor Murray and Damian De Allende who start from the bench.

One change to last weekend’s starting front-row as Jeremy Loughman replaces Dave Kilcoyne, he’s binding up with Niall Scannell and John Ryan come scrum time. Jean Kleyn and Fineen Wycherley make up the second-row pairing for the first time since Munster’s clash with the Stormers.

Peter O’Mahony will captain the team from the open-side, he’s joined in the back-row by Tadhg Beirne, who moves from second-row to blind-side flanker, and Jack O’Donoghue who starts at number eight.

Craig Casey continues his duties at scrum-half, he’s joined in the half-backs by academy graduate Jack Crowley who make his first start of the season.

4 September 2021; Jack Crowley of Munster Red VX during a challenge match between Munster XV Red and Munster XV Grey at Thomond Park in Limerick. Photo by Brendan Moran/Sportsfile

Crowley has played once so far for Munster this season when he came off the bench against Scarlets in round three, more recently Crowley started at full-back for Cork Con’s AIL clash with Clontarf last weekend.

Dan Goggin is joined in the centre by Liam Coombes for the first time since their round three win over Scarlets, similarly Shane Daly and Matt Gallagher get the nod at left wing and full-back respectively for the first time since round 3. The experienced Andrew Conway retains the 14 jersey from last weekends clash with Connacht.

Kevin O’Byrne, Josh Wycherley and Keynan Knox make up the front-row replacements, they’re joined on the bench by fellow forwards Gavin Coombes and John Hodnett.

Conor Murray and Damian De Allende return to the fray having returned from international duties over the past number of months, they’re joined on the bench by replacement out-half Ben Healy.

Take a look at the full team list below:

Munster: Matt Gallagher; Andrew Conway, Liam Coombes, Dan Goggin, Shane Daly; Jack Crowley, Craig Casey; Jeremy Loughman, Niall Scannell, John Ryan; Jean Kleyn, Fineen Wycherley; Tadhg Beirne, Peter O’Mahony (C), Jack O’Donoghue.

Replacements: Kevin O’Byrne, Josh Wycherley, Keynan Knox, Gavin Coombes, John Hodnett, Conor Murray, Ben Healy, Damian de Allende.

Social Sharing

Posted in

WATCH: Craig Casey “Coming Down To NZ is an entirely different challenge than paying them in the Aviva”

"To be down in the pinnacle of international rugby and test yourself and bond as a group is ...
Read More

WATCH: Andy Farrell “We’ll Be Well Up For The Challenge, There’s No Doubt”

Irish Rugby coach Andy Farrell has given his first press conference on New Zealand soil ahed of their ...
Read More

Munster Announce Six New Greencore Academy Players

Munster Rugby can confirm that six players will join the Greencore Munster Rugby Academy this summer.The new Academy ...
Read More

Preparations Continue As Ireland Head South For Kiwi Clashes

Ireland's Summer tour of New Zealand kicks off with a game against the Maori All-Blacks on the 29th ...
Read More

Sporting Limerick’s Best and Worst from the 2021/2022 rugby season

THE URC Final brought down the club rugby season and to say it was a mixed bag for ...
Read More

Highlights as Stormers Edge Bulls In Opening URC Final

Watch the highlights from DHL Stormers 18-13 Vodacom Bulls in the first final of the newly formed URC ...
Read More

O’Donoghue Claims Player of the Year Accolade | 2022 Munster Rugby Awards

The winners of the 2022 Munster Rugby Awards have today been confirmed with Keanes Jewellers trophies presented to ...
Read More

Eight Munster Players included but O’Donoghue misses out on Irish Squad for Summer Tour

Munster's Jack O'Donohue is a notable absentee after a stellar season. Ireland head coach Andy Farrell has named an extended ...
Read More