WATCH: Ballysteen crowned 1992 West Champions

in 1992, Ballysteen – under the guidance of Michael Ranahan Snr, Patrick Holland and Tom McDonagh – broke away from Askeaton to form a Junior Football team.

This team after only a few months in existence sensationally won the 1992 West Junior Football final which was played in Askeaton.

St. Senans were their opponents and the first match ended up a draw at 0-5 each. Ballysteen won the replay by 0-11 to 0-7 and Dan Neville lifted the cup to joyous celebrations.

The players used over the two days were Davy Mann, Barry Sheehan, Dan Neville (Captain) Vincent Hewson, Seamus Ranahan, John Neville, Paddy Neville, John Hewson, John Finucane, Anthony Moran, Noel Sheehan, Ray Neville, Clem Hewson, Donal Moran, Mike Neville, Mick Fitzgibbon, Donal Somers. Ballysteen went on to defeat Treaty Sarsfields in the county quarter final but went down heavily to Ballylanders in the county semi-final.

Social Sharing

Posted in

Champions Limerick bow out to red hot Rebels

Limerick 0-29Cork 1-28By Tom Clancy at Croke ParkLimerick's most remarkable run ended after a narrow, two-point loss, after ...
Read More

TEAM: Limerick make two changes to side to face Cork

John Kiely and his backroom team have made two changes from the starting XV that faced Clare in ...
Read More

Kingston Promises Intensity from “The Minute the Ball is in Play Right to the Very End”

For Shane Kingston and his Cork teammates, the journey to this point had been anything but straightforward, marked ...
Read More

Hannon on Success & Setbacks as Limerick Look Forward to Rebel Rematch

Limerick will do battle with a familiar foe in Cork this weekend as all roads lead to Croke ...
Read More

Hegarty: ‘There is a lot more to life outside of hurling”

In association with Bord Gais Energy. With six Munster and five All Ireland medals to his name, Gearóid ...
Read More

Sligo a bridge too far for Limerick as Tailteann dream ends

Sligo 2-20Limerick 0-9By Tom Clancy in Markievicz ParkLimerick’s hopes of a trip to Croke Park were wiped away ...
Read More

WATCH | Kiely, Gillane & O’Neill react after historic Munster SHC victory

Limerick made more history when claiming a record breaking sixth Munster Senior Hurling title in a row, thanks ...
Read More

Six of the best – Limerick claim record breaking Munster title

Limerick 1-26Clare 1-20By Tom Clancy in ThurlesLimerick made more history when claiming a record breaking sixth Munster Senior ...
Read More