All-Ireland winner included as Limerick reveal U20 Hurling Squad for 2023 Championship

English is one of two players in John Kiely’s current senior squad who have already seen national league action this year.

The Limerick U20 Hurling Panel for the 2023 Munster Championship has been named with Diarmuid Mullins selecting from a panel of 41 players.

Mullins has chosen Newcastle West’s Ethan Hurley as captain with Effin’s Paddy O’Donovan as vice-captain. Both started in last year’s All-Ireland U20 Final where Limerick were bested by Kilkenny by a solitary point.

They are two of seven players remaining from last year’s All-Ireland Final XV alongside Evan O’Leary, Cian Scully, John Kirby, Adam English and Shane O’Brien. English and O’Brien have already played for John Kiely’s men in the league this year.

English was also a part of the Limerick senior squad that won the All-Ireland last July. He captained the minors to the Munster championship title three years ago with 14 of the side that started in the final win over Tipperary named in the current 20s squad.

20 December 2020; Limerick captain Adam English lifts the cup following the Electric Ireland Munster GAA Hurling Minor Championship Final match between Limerick and Tipperary at LIT Gaelic Grounds in Limerick. Photo by David Fitzgerald/Sportsfile

In total, there are 24 clubs represented in the squad. Monaleen and Mungret St Pauls have the most players chosen with four including Fintan Fitzgerald (Mungret St Pauls) and Darragh Langan (Monaleen) who both started for the Limerick minors in their Munster quarter-final defeat last year. They are joined by Conor Frawley and Owen Meaney from that side.

Limerick kick off their campaign next Wednesday evening when they travel to the Fraher Fields to take on Waterford in the first round robin game. They host Clare the following Tuesday in the second round.

Under Mullins in two years in charge, Limerick have reached back-to-back Munster finals, beating Tipp in last year’s decider after losing to Cork in 2021.

2023 Limerick U20 Hurling Squad

Adam EnglishDoon
Adam FitzgeraldTempleglantine
Barry DuffMungret St. Pauls
Billy MolyneauxMungret St. Pauls
Cian O’CarrollCroagh Kilfinny
Cian ScullyDromin Athlacca
Con HayesNewcastlewest
Conor FrawleyBruree
Darragh ButlerBruff
Darragh LanganMonaleen
David FitzgeraldKildimo/Pallaskenry
Ethan Hurley (Captain)Newcastlewest
Evan O’LearyAhane
Ewan DillonEffin
Fintan FitzgeraldMungret St. Pauls
Jack MolloyKnockaderry
Jamie DoreTournafulla
JJ CareyNa Piarsaigh
John FitzgeraldNa Piarsaigh
John KirbyPatrickswell
Joseph FitzgeraldMonaleen
Josh O’ReillyBallybrown
Killian QuaidMurroe Boher
Liam DennehyGlenroe
Liam LynchMungret St. Pauls
Liam O’DonnellCappamore
Lochlann McHaleMonaleen
Luke O’ConnorBallybrown
Mark RiordanCastletown Ballyagran
Michael GavinBallybrown
Oisín O’FarrellAskeaton
Owen MeanyBruff
Patrick FinnBruff
Patrick O’Donovan (Vice Captain)Effin
Ronan LyonsMonaleen
Sean MurnaneBruff
Seán O’NeillBlackrock
Seán WhelanCappamore
Shane O’BrienKilmallock
Tomás LynchDoon
William DoreDromin Athlacca

GAA coverage on Sporting Limerick is brought to you in association with Noels Menswear, shop online here or visit in Dooradoyle, Limerick City or Newcastle West.

Social Sharing

Posted in

“We’re still here” | John Kiely defiant after booking Munster final spot

Kiely said he was "delighted" that his team's "average performance level is up," but conceded that his players ...
Read More

Limerick march through to Munster final after Waterford success

Limerick reached a sixth Munster final in a row after eventually shaking off Waterford to defeat their Munster ...
Read More

Kilkenny too strong for Limerick in Camogie Championship opener

Limerick 0-4Kilkenny 1-19By Tom Clancy at Mick Neville ParkLimerick's Senior Camogie side fell to a disappointing 18-point reverse ...
Read More

Limerick v Waterford | Last Five Championship Clashes

Ahead of this Saturday’s meeting, relive the last five championship clashes between the Munster rivals. Limerick and Waterford ...
Read More

Limerick Senior hurling team named for Waterford clash | TEAM NEWS

Gearoid Hegarty and Tom Morrissey assume their familiar half-forward roles, with Seamus Flanagan named at full-forward. John Kiely ...
Read More

Limerick defeat Offaly in Tailteann Cup meeting

The Shannonsiders had gone 364 days without a victory of any sort, stopping the rot one day short ...
Read More

“We put ourselves in a position to win the game”| John Kiely reflects on Cork defeat

The boss did also highlight that "it's a four game competition" and that "everything is not lost or ...
Read More

John Kiely names Limerick team for Cork clash | TEAM NEWS

Gearoid Hegarty and Tom Morrissey assume their familiar half-forward roles, with Seamus Flanagan named at full-forward. John Kiely ...
Read More